July 2023 News Perspective Online

Perkins Graduation 2023

Watch the graduation video here.

Click on photos to see full size image.

2023 Graduation Day Awards

The Faculty Award in Greek is given to the student who ranks highest in New Testament Greek scholarship.

Kenna Curry

The Charley T. and Jesse James Bible Awards are awarded to students on the basis of academic achievement in biblical courses and overall scholastic performance.

Tripp Gulledge
Ally Stokes

The W.B.J. Martin Award in Homiletics is given in recognition of the most outstanding student in the introductory preaching classes

Clayton Hall

The W. B. DeJernett Award in Homiletics is given to a senior student with the highest academic average in courses in homiletics.

Tripp Gulledge

The Paul W. Quillian Award in Homiletics goes to students who have presented the best-written sermon.

Luke Thomson

The Robert Weatherford Prize for Internship Preaching was established to honor the distinguished service of Robert Weatherford to the United Methodist Foundation.  This award is given to Master of Divinity students for excellence in preaching during internship

Keneshia Colwell

The Bert Affleck Award is given to a student for Creativity in Ministry during Internship.

Rachel Mumaw

The Fellowship Seminarian Award, established by The Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts, is given to a graduating seminary student who displays outstanding leadership in music and/or worship arts including but not limited to, dance, drama, fabric art and liturgical writing.

Leanne Seabright

The Hoyt Hickman Award for Outstanding Liturgical Scholarship and Practice is awarded by The Order of St. Luke to the graduating student who has demonstrated quality scholarship in the study of liturgy and is an effective leader of Christian worship.

Tripp Gulledge

The Roger Deschner Prize in Sacred Music was established in memory of Roger Deschner, long-time professor of sacred music at Perkins. The prize is given to  M.S.M. students who excel in academic work, musical abilities and overall achievement in the M.S.M. program.

Fernando Berwig Silva
Mykayla Turner

The Albert C. Outler Award in Theology is awarded to the student contributing the most outstanding essays in theology during the academic year.

Jessica Spillers

The Phillip Schaff Prize in Church History, established by Klaus Penzel, is awarded to students who have demonstrated excellence in the historical study of Christianity, while participating in courses in church history.  It is named after the founder of the American Society of Church History.

Jeremy Clark

The Karis Stahl Fadely Award is presented to students who exhibit the qualities which were exemplified by Karis Fadely: commitment to Jesus Christ and to the total ministry and mission of the Church; responsibility in assigned tasks; ability to excel in a wide range of ministerial functions; and use and management of time.

Macy Block
Drew Scoggins

The B’nai B’rith Award in Social Ethics is given by the Harold M. Kaufman Memorial Foundation to students on the basis of scholarly competence in the field of Social Ethics and personal commitment as shown in voluntary activity in support of worthy social causes.  And we are delighted again this year to be joined by Sandy Kaufman who will present the award.

Marty Loman

The Harry Hosier Spirit Award, established by Perkins alumnus The Rev. Dr. Henry Masters, is given to a graduating student who best exemplifies the spirit of Harry Hosier expressed in what is described as his “elocution of faith: I sing by faith, preach by faith, pray by faith, and do everything by faith.”

Keneshia Colwell

The Dr. and Mrs. Glenn Flinn Senior Award is given to that member of the graduating class who, in the judgment of the faculty, best exemplifies the aims of the school and the church for its ministry.

Tripp Gulledge