Texas Association of Mediators Honors Hartsell with Profession’s Highest Award

Tom Hartsell, J.D., clinical professor in the Department of Dispute Resolution and Counseling, received the 2021 Susan C. Adams Award from the Texas Association of Mediators during its annual conference. The award is the organization’s highest recognition and honors exceptional efforts in promoting and furthering the use of mediation in the state.

Hartsell is a lawyer and mediator in private practice with a specialty in family law and mental health practice issues. He has been active in the mediation field since 1986. He is a co-author of “The Portable Lawyer for Mental Health Professionals, an A-Z Guide to Protecting Your Clients, Your Practice and Yourself” and “The Portable Ethicist, An A-Z Guide to Responsible Practice” published by John Wiley & Sons and is a frequent lecturer to mental health professionals and organizations.

NBC5 Interviews Greta Davis about the Psychology of Disbelief during COVID-19


In an NBC5 interview about why people are not grasping the current number of pandemic deaths in Texas, which are at a peak of 10,000, Clinical Associate Professor Greta Davis discussed the psychology  involved.

She explained the concepts of confirmation bias, cognitive dissonance, and people’s stress response to COVID-19.

Dr. Davis chairs the Department of Dispute Resolution and Counseling at SMU Simmons.

For more, see story below.




From Dispute Resolution: How to Apologize the Right Way

As of late, grievances are getting aired publicly, and so are apologies. But what goes into saying, “I’m sorry?” John Potter, clinical associate professor in dispute resolution, spoke with Dan Godwin @Fox4 about  how to construct an apology.



DRCM Students Win National Mediation Competition

(L to R): Yanina Vashchenko, Nate Owens, Dana Garnett, Elizabeth Blake, David Russell, Anjana Vellingiri, Samreen Hooda, Kimberly Wise, Gerry Plata

At the 5th Annual Graduate Mediation Competition hosted by SMU’s Center for Dispute Resolution and Conflict Management, April 1-2, in Plano, Simmons student teams won every award category. They are as follows:

First Place Team award: Dana Garnett, Nate Owens, and Yanina Vashchenko. Second Place Team award: Samreen Hooda, Kimberly Wise, and Anjana Vellingiri. First Place Mediator: Dana Garnett. Second Place Mediator: Anjana Vellingiri. First Place Client/Advocate: David Russell. Second Place Client Advocate: Elizabeth Blake.

This year, the competing schools included Champlain College, Kennesaw State University, Brandeis University and SMU.