April 1, 2021

No. 1 seed SMU won the inaugural Eastern College Athletic Conference equestrian championship March 26 after defeating University of Tennessee Martin, 11-4. The title is the program’s third consecutive conference championship after the 2020 championship was canceled.

SMU is seeded fourth for the NCEA National Championships in Waco April 15–17.

SMU equestrian earned five conference post-season awards and had six riders named to all-conference teams.

Three Mustangs were named ECAC Riders of the Year: Taylor Madden in flat, Devin Seek in fences and Nya Kearns in horsemanship. SMU had two team members selected as Freshman Riders of the Year: Nya Kearns in horsemanship and Chalyce Head in reining.

The Mustangs had six riders named to All-Conference teams for the 2020-21 season. Taylor Madden was named to the all-flat team. Devin Seek was named to the fences team for the third year in a row. Aubrey Alderman earned her first conference honor as part of the All-Horsemanship team and is joined by Nya Kearns. Dani Latimer and Jill Pfisthner were both named to the reining team, the second consecutive honor for both riders.

Read more about nationals.