Recognition and Awards

2019-2020 HOPE Banquet and Awards announced

SMU’s Residence Life and Student Housing (RLSH) honored 84 outstanding professors at the 2019-2020 HOPE Awards Banquet on February 4, 2020. 

Dr. Jill DeTemple, Professor of Religious Studies in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, was recognized as the 2019-2020 Professor of the Year.

The Professor of the Year receives a plaque commemorating their achievement at the HOPE Awards Banquet.

Started in 1998, HOPE (Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence) Awards’ recipients are professors nominated by students and staff who “have made a significant impact to our academic education both inside and outside of the classroom.” The nominees are celebrated for “promoting learning” and “acting as a student advocate.” 

The complete list of 2019-2020 HOPE Award honorees:

Cox School of Business

  • Anna Cororaton, Finance
  • Michael Cox, O’Neil Center
  • Liliana Hickman-Riggs, Accounting
  • Jack Miao, Business Leadership Institute
  • Mehrdad Samadi, Finance
  • Sorabh Tomar, Accounting
  • Nathan Walcott, Finance

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

  • Adriana Aceves, Mathematics
  • Michael Adler, Anthropology
  • Omar Daifalla al-Rashdan, World Languages & Literatures
  • Stephanie Amsel, English
  • William Barnard, Religious Studies
  • Eric Barnes, Philosophy
  • Donna Binkowski, World Languages & Literatures
  • Joci Caldwell-Ryan, Women’s Studies
  • Mark Chancey, Religious Studies
  • Richard Cogley, Religious Studies
  • Marlen Collazo, World Languages & Literatures
  • Miroslava Detcheva, World Languages & Literature
  • Daniele Forlino, World Languages & Literatures
  • Justin Germain, World Languages & Literatures
  • Rick Halperin, Human Rights Program
  • Brentney Hamilton, English
  • Susan Harris, Psychology
  • Susan Hornstein, Psychology
  • Xiao Hu, World Languages & Literatures
  • Sheri Kunovich, Sociology
  • Winnie Laurence, History
  • Andrea Laurent-Simpson, Sociology
  • Bruce Levy, English
  • Alex Lippert, Chemistry
  • Samantha LoCoco, English
  • Olga Lopez Valero, World Languages & Literatures
  • Leticia McDoniel, World Languages & Literatures
  • Jasper Neel, English
  • Judy Newell, Mathematics
  • Susan Norman, English
  • Kristen Polster, English
  • Stephen Robertson, Statistical Science
  • William Roudabush, English
  • Bivin Sadler, Statistical Science
  • Michael Saliba, Economics
  • Joy Saunders, World Languages & Literatures
  • Steven Sekula, Physics
  • Ross Sloan, English
  • Charles South, Statistical Science
  • Kara Sutton, Sociology
  • Hiroki Takeuchi, Political Science
  • Robert Viator, Mathematics
  • Elizabeth Wheaton, Economics
  • Emma Wilson, English
  • Angela Wood, English
  • Brian Zoltowski, Chemistry

Lyle School of Engineering

  • Steve McCauley, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jayce Miller, Computer Science
  • Klyne Smith, Computer Science
  • Jessie Zarazaga, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Meadows School of the Arts

  • Willie Baronet, Temerlin Advertising
  • B. Kathleen Gallagher, Arts Administration
  • James Hart, Arts Management & Arts Entrepeneurship
  • Derrick Horne, Music
  • Pamela Huffman, Music
  • Mark Kerins, Film & Media Arts
  • Melissa Murray, Music
  • Sarah Nance, Art

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

  • Caitlin Anderson, Wellness
  • Ann Batenburg, Center for Teacher Education
  • Francesca Jones, Teaching & Learning

Congratulations to Dr. Jill DeTemple and all of the exceptional nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *