New Faces at Perkins

Rev. Dr. Charles AaronRev. Dr. Charles Aaron (M.Div. ’85) is co-director of the Perkins Intern Program and an associate professor of supervised ministry. He holds a doctorate from Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Va., and is an ordained United Methodist elder in the North Texas Annual Conference.


Jazmin CabreraJazmin Cabrera joined the Perkins staff in January 2017 as assistant director of the Hispanic-Latin@ Ministries Program, which recruits and trains church leaders to minister effectively
to Spanish-speaking and bilingual worshippers.

Anthony EliaAnthony Elia is J.S. Bridwell Foundation Endowed Librarian and Director of Bridwell Library at Perkins School of Theology, effective June 1, 2018.


Reba GramReba Gram is a program specialist in the Intern Program,
having transferred from within SMU. She serves as assistant to the director of the Intern Program.


Mark GreimMark Greim is business manager for Perkins School
of Theology. He previously worked as a finance manager, controller and staff accountant for a wide range of private-sector companies.


Bridget Anderson OswaldBridget Anderson Oswald is the school’s associate director of public affairs and alumni/ae relations, assisting Rev. Connie L. Nelson, director.


Sandy OswaltSandy Oswalt is financial aid coordinator and administrative assistant to the Rev. Dr. Margot Perez-Greene, associate dean
for enrollment management.


Rev. Dr. Margot Perez-GreeneRev. Dr. Margot Perez-Greene (M.Div. ’11), is associate dean for enrollment management. A clergy member of the Rio Texas Annual Conference, Perez-Greene holds an M.A. degree in Counselor Education from Arizona State University and a Ph.D. degree in Educational Administration from The University of Texas at Austin.


Christina RhodesChristina Rhodes is an advancement associate in the Office of Development. She assists John Martin, director.



Retirees We’ll Miss

Judy Gibbons, assistant to the director of the Intern Program.

Michael C. Hawn, distinguished professor of church music, director of the Sacred Music Program and author of “History of Hymns,” a longstanding weekly column for The United Methodist Reporter.

William B. Lawrence, Perkins dean from 2002 to 2016, who retires as professor of American church history effective May 31. He was recognized as Professor Emeritus of Church History at Perkins School of Theology-Southern Methodist University during the 2018 SMU Commencement ceremony.

Roberta Schaafsma, director of Bridwell Library and J.S. Bridwell Endowed Librarian, from 2007-2018.

Thomas Spann (D.Min.’83), director of the Intern Program and professor of supervised ministry.


Staff-Faculty Appointments

Tracy Anne Allred was appointed to the new position of Assistant Dean of Student Life and Director of Community Engagement.

Herbert Coleman, director of admissions since 2015 and an admissions staff member since 2007, has been named to the new position of Director of Retention and Student Success, effective June 1. His portfolio resides within the office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and he will report to Evelyn Parker.

Isabel Docampo, professor of supervised ministry, has been named co-director of the Perkins Intern Program. In addition, she is director of the Center for the Study of Latino/a Christianity and Religions. She succeeds Hugo Magallanes.

Roy Heller, associate professor of Old Testament, has been named director of the Graduate Program in Religious Studies (GPRS). He succeeds Rebekah Miles, professor of ethics and practical theology, who led the program from 2013-2018.

James Kang Hoon Lee has been promoted to the position of associate professor of the History of Early Christianity (with tenure) by Southern Methodist University. In addition, he is the new director of the Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) program. He succeeds Carlos Cardoza-Orlandi, who led the program during 2017-18.

Hugo Magallanes, associate professor of Christianity and Cultures, was named the first director of the Houston-Galveston Extension Program.


2017 SMU Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Award

Pamela Goolsby (center right), associate director of facilities and events in the Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/e Relations at Perkins, was awarded the 2017 SMU Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Award. Recognized for her exemplary work with both internal and external groups who hold events at Perkins, she was one of five award recipients who were nominated by faculty and staff of their respective schools. Congratulations, Pam!