May 2020 News Perspective Online

Staff News

The Rev. Connie L. Nelson (M.Th. ’84), executive director of Perkins’ Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations, has been named a recipient of the 2020 Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Award.   Each year, the SMU Faculty Senate honors five exemplary staff members with this award, with recipients nominated by SMU faculty members.

Recipients usually receive a citation and gifts at the final meeting of the Faculty Senate in May; this year’s presentation has been postponed, likely until this fall. The recognition is “a measure not just of jobs well done, but also of the personal contributions the individuals have made to the web of interconnections that make up SMU,” according to the Faculty Senate’s website.

As they have in past years, Barnes & Noble, Meadows Museum, Meadows Theatre, SMU Dining Services and SMU Athletics Department will provide gifts to the honorees.

In 2019, James Pan, Academic Technology Service Director, was selected for the award based on recommendations of Perkins staff. Other past Perkins recipients include Duane Harbin, Roberta Cox, Stephanie Carroll, Judith B. Gibbons and Pam Goolsby.