YES Seminars

Young Educator Seminars

Bringing music educators together who are young and/or “young at heart”

Meadows School of the Arts

Southern Methodist University

Young Educator Seminars is pleased to announce that our next YES will be held Friday evening, March 9th at the Bavarian Grill in Plano beginning at 6:30 PM.  Our seminar will feature Brad Kent and Bill Watson speaking “from the administrator’s point of view”.

Dr. Brad Kent is the Director of Fine Arts in the Richardson Independent School District in Richardson, Texas, where he administrates all Band, Choir, Orchestra, and Theatre programs. Prior to his current position, Dr. Kent served as Director of Bands at both Texas A&M University at Commerce and Lamar University. Ensembles under his direction have performed at the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic, the Texas Music Educators Association Clinic/Convention (twice), the College Band Directors National Association Conference (twice), and the Texas Bandmasters Association Convention. He also serves as Conductor of the Lone Star Wind Orchestra Youth Winds.

Mr. Bill Watson is currently the Director of Fine Arts for the Lewisville ISD.  He is also in his sixth year as a member of the brass staff for the Concord Blue Devils Drum & Bugle Corps. Mr. Watson has been fortunate to have worked with marching organizations that have received numerous awards, including five Texas UIL State Marching Championships, the 1993 Bands of America Grand National Championship, and five DCI World Championships. Bands under Mr. Watson have earned numerous honors including nine TMEA State Honor Band appearances and the 1984 Class C Middle School Honor Band. The Spring High School Band performed at The Midwest Clinic in 1994 and received the Sudler Flag of Honor in 1995.

As always, YES is free and informal. A certificate for Continuing Professional Education credit will be available.

We promote YES primarily through email.  We will be glad to add anyone to our mailing list.  Ask them to contact Brian Merrill.  You can also find YES on Facebook.



Cynthia Nott, Artistic Director of the Children’s Chorus of Greater Dallas

Robert Floyd, Executive Director of the Texas Music Educators Association

Bob Duke, The University of Texas at Austin

Frank Battisti, Conductor Emeritus of the New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble

Ryan Anthony, Principal Trumpet with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra

Matthew McInturf, Sam Houston State University

Debbie Johnson, Principal Flutist, Richardson Symphony

Tom Booth, SMU trumpet professor & Dallas Symphony Orchestra

John Whitwell, Director Emeritus of Michigan State University

Debra Haburay, Forestwood MS, Lewisville ISD

Claire Johnson, flute teaching & music pedagogy

Joshua Habermann, Director of the Dallas Symphony Chorus

Kimberly Hernandez & Billy Jean Lee, Robinson MS, Plano ISD

Kari Gilbertson, Forest Meadows JH, Richardson ISD

Dr. Paul Phillips, Director of Orchestral Activities, SMU

Brian Beck, Faubion MS, McKinney ISD

Barbara Lambrecht, El Paso public schools

Richard Floyd, Music Director for the University Interscholastic League

Rodney Klett, retired, Georgetown ISD

Donnie Owens, Waxahachie ISD

Tom Shine, retired, Duncanville ISD

Trent Cooper, Director of Bands at Dekaney High School, Spring ISD