Young Music Educator Award

Meadows School of the Arts Young Music Educator of the Year Award

Begun in 2010, the MYMY Award seeks to recognize and encourage recent SMU graduates who are pursuing a career in music teaching. Nominees, selected by the SMU music education faculty, must have taught between 3-8 years and show evidence of successful teaching, service, and professional development. The final selection is done by a panel of distinguished SMU music education alumni:

Tom Bennett, Director of Bands, University of Houston, Retired

Richard Floyd, Director of State UIL Music Activities

Robert Floyd, Executive Director, Texas Music Educators Association

Kari Gilbertson, Director of Choirs, Forest Meadow Junior High School, Richardson ISD

James Hannah, Director of Bands, Plano West High School, Plano ISD

George Jones, Director of Fine Arts, Garland ISD

Jeff King, Director of Bands, Duncanville High School, Duncanville ISD

Lindy Perez, Director of Choirs, Richardson High School, Richardson ISD

Joel Price, Director of Choirs, Westwood Junior High School, Richardson ISD

Frank Ticheli, Professor of Composition, University of Southern California

Ted Walker, Music Director, Hamilton Park Pacesetter Magnet, Richardson ISD

Peter Warshaw, Director of Fine Arts, Leander ISD

The 2010 MYMY recipient is Mr. Chris Pineda, Liberty Junior High School, Richardson, Texas