SMU, DCCCD renew credit-transfer agreements

SMU-DCCCD meetingSMU and the Dallas County Community College District formally agreed in August to continue their shared commitment to help students and improve college graduation rates with two agreements that support easy transfer of credits between the two institutions.

SMU President R. Gerald Turner and DCCCD Chancellor Wright Lassiter signed an articulation agreement and a reverse-transfer agreement that provide guidelines for class-credit transfers.

Agreements that allow students to easily transfer credits from community colleges to four-year universities are an important method for improving a student’s chances of completing a four-year degree. The Dallas County Community College District is SMU’s biggest source of transfer students. In the last five years, 604 students have transferred from DCCCD to SMU.

Turner said transfer students from DCCCD tend to be slightly older than students who start their college careers at SMU, usually have work experiences they can draw from, and come from a variety of backgrounds.

“Transfer students add an important diversity of opinion in our upper level classes,” Turner said. “There’s more than one way to get a degree at SMU.”

Turner noted that he, too, began his college education in a two-year program. He received an associate’s degree and transferred from Lubbock Christian College as a junior to Abilene Christian University, where he graduated with a B.S. in psychology. Turner went on to receive an M.A. and a PhD. from the University of Texas.

The articulation agreement spells out guidelines for transferring community college credits toward a four-year SMU degree. The reverse-transfer agreement allows DCCCD/SMU students to transfer SMU credits back to the community college district. This is important because students often transfer to a four-year institution just shy of the hours they need to complete the associate’s degree. Since community colleges in Texas are measured, in part, by how many associate degrees they award, the agreement allows DCCCD to get the credit the district deserves for two-year graduation rates.

“It’s a win-win for both DCCCD and SMU students, and we are happy to facilitate the process,” said Nancy Skochdopole, director of SMU’s Transfer and Transition Services.

(Above, left to right, Dylan Lewis, SMU President R. Gerald Turner, DCCCD Chancellor Wright Lassiter and Daniela Balderas. Lewis and Balderas are seniors who transferred to SMU from DCCCD.)

Pres. Turner to become first member of new honors chapter

Tau Sigma National Honor Society logoSMU President R. Gerald Turner will be a special guest – and the honorary first member – at the charter and inaugural induction ceremony of SMU’s Gamma Beta Chapter of Tau Sigma National Honor Society. The celebration takes place at 4 p.m. April 22 in Conference Rooms 108 and 110, Blanton Student Services Building.

The ceremony will establish the honor society’s SMU chapter, as well as recognize the academic excellence that students have exemplified in their first semesters after transferring to the University, says Registrar John Hall.

Tau Sigma was founded specifically to “recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students,” according to the honor society’s website.

President Turner is SMU’s most prominent transfer student – during his college years, he received an Associate of Arts degree from Lubbock Christian University before transferring to Abilene Christian University. Upon his induction as an honorary member, he will become SMU’s first chapter member. Forty-one current University transfer students will join him as the chapter’s inaugural class.

Nancy Skochdopole, director of the Registrar’s Office of Transfer and Transition Services, initiated the chapter’s founding to help enhance and solidify all aspects of the transfer experience.

> Visit the Office of the Registrar online