Distinguished Alumni Awards among 2008 Homecoming highlights

Richie ButlerFive leaders in business, technology and community service have been named to receive SMU’s 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor the university bestows upon its graduates. The banquet and ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. Nov. 6 in the Khmer Pavilion of the Hilton Anatole Hotel, 2201 Stemmons Freeway.

The 2008 DAA Award recipients are:

Darrell Lafitte (’54), SMU All-America football player turned banker
Malcolm Morris (’68), Millennium Water Alliance founder and chair
Gary Pittman (’53), Texas Instruments researcher and co-inventor of the light-emitting diode (LED)
Richard Ware (’68), president of Amarillo National Bank, one of the largest family-owned banks in the country

Richie Butler (’93, right) will receive the 2008 Emerging Leader Award, which recognizes an outstanding alumnus or alumna who has graduated within the last 15 years. Butler helped create Unity Estates, a planned community of 285 single-family homes in South Dallas sponsored by the 70-member African American Pastors’ Coalition. He also founded the church community Union Cathedral, which he currently serves as the senior pastor.

The DAA Awards are a traditional highlight of SMU’s annual Homecoming celebration. The 2008 Homecoming, “Rolling Out the Red Carpet,” takes place Nov. 2-9. The Homecoming game against Memphis begins at 2 p.m. Nov. 8 in Ford Stadium.

Learn more about SMU’s Distinguished Alumni Awards
More Homecoming information from the SMU Student Foundation