Randall Griffin honored at Fall General Faculty Meeting

Randall Griffin, professor of art history in Meadows School of the Arts, was honored as the 2009-10 United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year at SMU’s Fall 2010 General Faculty Meeting Aug. 25.

President R. Gerald Turner updated the faculty on endowment issues, the incoming class, and other issues surrounding campus life.

> Newly tenured faculty and more under the link

Continue reading “Randall Griffin honored at Fall General Faculty Meeting”

Four named 2010-12 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors

SMU's 2010-12 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching ProfessorsFour outstanding educators have been named 2010-12 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors by SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence. This year’s honorees are Johan Elverskog, Religious Studies, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences; Randall Griffin, Art History, Meadows School of the Arts; Roy Heller, Old Testament, Perkins School of Theology; and Donald VandeWalle, Management and Organizations, Cox School of Business.

The four new members of SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers will join returning members Crista DeLuzio, History; Robert Howell, Philosophy, Thomas Knock, History; and Thomas Osang, Economics (all in Dedman College).

Each year since 2001, the Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Awards recognize four SMU faculty members for their commitment to and achievements in fostering student learning. “These are faculty whose concerns for higher education go beyond classroom boundaries and often the boundaries of their own discipline,” according to the CTE website. “They represent the highest achievement in reaching the goals of higher education.” The professorships are named for SMU Trustee Ruth Altshuler.

Each recipient receives a $10,000 award and membership in SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers for the two years of their appointment as Altshuler Professors. Members participate actively with other members of the Academy to address issues in classroom teaching.

Read more about the new Altshuler Professors under the link.

Above, the new Altshuler Professors were honored by the SMU Board of Trustees during its May meeting (left to right): Roy Heller, Johan Elverskog, SMU Trustee Ruth Altshuler, Donald VandeWalle and Randall Griffin.

Continue reading “Four named 2010-12 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors”

Three receive 2010 Distinguished University Citizen Awards

Three faculty members were honored with SMU’s annual Distinguished University Citizen Award at the Faculty Breakfast held May 15 before Commencement. The 2010 recipients:

Randall Griffin, Art History, Meadows School of the Arts
Miguel Quiñones, Management and Organizations, Cox School of Business
Nina Schwartz, English, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

The award, given by the Provost’s Office, honors three faculty members each year for service and activities that benefit students and the University’s academic mission. “It’s a chance to say ‘thank you’ to people who have given so much of themselves to SMU,” says Associate Provost Ellen Jackofsky. “The recipients truly have distinguished themselves as good University citizens.”

For the Record: March 19, 2009

'Catholic Moral Theology in the United States' book coverCharles Curran, Elizabeth Scurlock University Professor of Human Values, has won the 2008 American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE Award) in Theology and Religious Studies for his book Catholic Moral Theology in the United States: A History (Georgetown University Press). Presented by the Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division of the Association of American Publishers since 1976, the PROSE Awards “annually recognize the very best in professional and scholarly publishing by bringing attention to distinguished books, journals, and electronic content in over 35 disciplines,” according to their website.

Elaine Heath, Perkins School of Theology, has been elected to the Executive Council of the Wesleyan Theological Society.

Randall Griffin, Art History, Meadows School of the Arts, has been named to the Student and Emerging Professionals Committee of the College Art Association for 2009-12. He is also a member of CAA’s Board of Directors.

Provost gives ‘cautiously optimistic’ budget outlook at faculty meeting

(Originally published Jan. 27, 2009.)

SMU Provost Paul Ludden presented a “cautiously optimistic” budget picture for the 2009-10 academic year at the 2009 Spring General Faculty Meeting Jan. 21. Faculty and staff pay increases will occur, he added. Assistant Professor Maria Dixon received a special award during the meeting. Read a recap under the link.

Continue reading “Provost gives ‘cautiously optimistic’ budget outlook at faculty meeting”

Faculty books for giving (and keeping)

(Originally published Dec. 6, 2007.)

'Psychology of the Simpsons' coverWith subjects ranging from the art of the Maya to the psychology of America’s favorite dysfunctional animated family, SMU faculty members and researchers published or won awards for a bevy of books during 2007. We’ve made a list, and invite you to add your own favorite books in the comments. Read more.

Continue reading “Faculty books for giving (and keeping)”

For the Record: Oct. 4, 2007

Winslow Homer's 'Eight Bells'Randall Griffin, Art History, has received the Dallas Museum of Art’s Vasari Award for the second time in three years. He was chosen for the 2007 award for his book Winslow Homer: An American Vision (Phaidon). The Vasari Award is given annually to an author working in Texas “whose book provides insight into works of art or aspects of art history and theory that enriches the understanding of visual arts.” Griffin’s 2007 co-winner is Anthony Alofsin, the Roland Gommel Roessner Centennial Professor of Architecture and Professor of Art and Art History at UT-Austin. (Left, Winslow Homer’s Eight Bells, which will appear in the Meadows Museum’s “Coming of Age: American Art, 1850s to 1950s,” opening Nov. 30.)

Shlomo Weber, Economics, is the new academic director of the International School of Economics in Tbilisi, Georgia. He will visit during the coming year to work with students, faculty, staff and other community members.

Tatiana Zimakova, Russian Area Studies, has been nominated for a Lone Star Emmy Award in the category of Magazine Program-Feature/Segment for her Dallas Schools Television program, “A Taste of Russia.” The show aired on WFAA Channel 8 and KERA Channel 13 in spring 2007 and features urban elementary and middle school students who are studying the Russian language and learning about Russian culture, history and food. “A Taste of Russia” focuses on the interdisciplinary aspect of the students’ studies and the students’ performance at SMU’s 2007 Russian Festival 2007 last March. Lone Star Emmy winners will be announced at a ceremony Oct. 27 in Dallas.

Jasper Smits, Psychology, has received the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies‘ 2007 President’s New Researcher Award for his paper entitled “Cognitive Mechanisms of Social Anxiety Reduction: An Examination of Specificity and Temporality.” Two co-authors on the award-winning paper also are from SMU Psychology: Renee McDonald and David Rosenfield.

Anthony Cortese, Sociology, has been appointed to a three-year term on the Advisory Panel for the newly established Center for the Study of Latino/a Christianity and Religion in the Perkins School of Theology.