Nominations for Piper Professorships due Oct. 28

Nominations for the 2010 Piper Professor awards are due Oct. 28, 2009. SMU will nominate one individual to compete for the are, presented by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. The Piper Professor Program honors superior teaching in Texas colleges and universities. Nominations are requested annually from all accredited institutions of higher learning in the state, and 15 awards are given each year.

The selection committee “seek(s) out the well-rounded, outgoing teacher, devoted to the profession, who has made special impact on…students and the community.” Piper Professors receive a $5,000 award and public recognition.

Recent SMU Piper Professors have included Rick Halperin (2009), director of SMU’s Human Rights Education Program, and Ellen Pryor (2005), Homer R. Mitchell Professor of Law in Dedman School of Law and University associate provost.

Faculty members may nominate colleagues, tenure-track or non-tenure-track, who have shown outstanding teaching effectiveness and academic achievement. Nomination letters should include:

  • The rationale for nomination
  • The list of courses being taught by the nominee during the 2009-10 academic year
  • A list of four additional references for the nominee
  • An endorsement signature from the nominee’s department chair (chairs may endorse more than one nominee)

Submit all nominations by Wednesday, Oct. 28, to Kathleen Hugley-Cook, Director of National Fellowships and Awards, 319 Perkins Administration Building, SMU Box 221. Nominations may also be sent by e-mail.