Students honor professors with 2008 HOPE Awards

Eddie Hourigan, Mark Fontenot and Ben Koopferstock at SMU's 2008 HOPE AwardsStudent staff members in SMU’s Department of Residence Life and Student Housing honored 53 University educators at the 11th annual HOPE Banquet Nov. 2, 2008. HOPE (Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence) Award recipients are named through student staff member nominations as professors who “have made a significant impact to our academic education both inside and outside of the classroom.”

Mark Fontenot of the Computer Science and Engineering Department, Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering, was honored as 2008 Professor of the Year. Three Dedman College professors – Joe Kobylka and Michael Lusztig of the Political Science Department and Patty Wisian-Neilson of the Chemistry Department – were named Distinguished Professors, denoting that they have been recognized as HOPE Professors during at least 5 of the 11 years in which the honor has existed.

Read the complete list of honorees under the link below. Right, Professor of the Year Mark Fontenot (center in photo) with the two students who nominated him: Eddie Hourigan (left) and Ben Koopferstock.

Continue reading “Students honor professors with 2008 HOPE Awards”