Elverskog, Kerins, Stephens receive 2011 Godbey Authors’ Awards

2011 Godbey Authors' Awards winnersThree SMU faculty authors will be honored for outstanding books published in 2010 at the 2011 Godbey Lecture Series Authors’ Award Luncheon. The 31st annual presentation takes place 11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 27, in the Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center.

The Godbey Authors’ Awards are presented by the Godbey Lecture Series in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. Honorees are chosen for their outstanding scholarly research, publications and teaching ability. Each receives a prize of $1,000.

The 2011 honorees are:

  • Johan Elverskog, professor of religious studies in Dedman College, for Buddhism and Islam on the Silk Road (University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • Mark Kerins, assistant professor of film and media art in Meadows School of the Arts, for Beyond Dolby (Stereo): Cinema in the Digital Sound Age (Indiana University Press)
  • Kathleen Sullivan Stephens, adjunct professor of English and academic adviser in Dedman College, for Our White Boy (Texas Tech University Press)
  • The luncheon reservation deadline is Thursday, April 21. For tickets and more information, contact Deborah Martin in the Godbey Lecture Series office, 214-768-2532.

    > Visit the Godbey Lecture Series homepage