Julie Patterson Forrester named SMU interim law dean

SMU Law Professor Julie Forrester
SMU Law Professor Julie Patterson Forrester has been named interim dean of the University’s Dedman School of Law.

Law Professor Julie Patterson Forrester, an award-winning legal scholar in property law, has been named interim dean of SMU’s Dedman School of Law, effective June 1, 2013. She previously served as the law school’s associate dean of academic affairs, from 1995-96.

“We are fortunate to have Professor Forrester in place to serve in this important role,” said SMU Provost Paul Ludden, who appointed the interim dean. “She is an outstanding legal scholar who also has an impressive record of community service and engagement. She will work well with the University community and with the broader legal community as we look forward to a bright future for the Dedman School of Law.”

SMU will conduct a national search for a permanent dean to replace John B. Attanasio, who will complete his service as dean in May. The search committee, also appointed by Ludden, will be assisted by Ilene Nagel, Ph.D., and Mirah Horowitz, J.D., of the executive search firm Russell Reynolds Associates. It will include 18 attorneys, law professors, community leaders and others.

SMU search committee members from the community, who also are members of the Dedman School Executive Board, are attorneys Michael M. Boone of Haynes and Boone, LLP, and chair-elect of the SMU Board of Trustees; William D. Noel of Houston; Alan Feld of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP; the Hon. Deborah G. Hankinson of Hankinson LLP; Albon Head of Jackson Walker, LLP, Fort Worth; and Robert H. Dedman Jr., president and CEO of DFI Management, Ltd., and vice-chair of the SMU Board of Trustees.

Members from the Dedman School of Law community are Professors Cheryl Nelson Butler, Bill Dorsaneo, Xuan-Thao Nguyen, Joshua Tate and Jeffrey Kahn; second-year Dedman School of Law student Jessie Williams Greenwald, Ph.D.; and Karen Sargent, assistant dean for career services. Other committee members are Professor Rita Kirk of the Division of Communication Studies and director of the Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility; Rosario E. Heppe, senior director of corporate compliance at Fluor Corporation; and Wayne Watts, senior executive vice president and general counsel, AT&T.

The committee is chaired by Albert W. Niemi Jr., dean of the SMU Cox School of Business. SMU’s custom is to have a senior dean chair the search committee for other deans.

“We are gratified by the high caliber and diversity of individuals who will serve on our search committee,” Ludden said. “With the advantages of SMU and Dallas and a strong tradition of academic achievement, Dedman School of Law is well-positioned to attract a leader who will take the school into the next stage of its development.”

Professor Forrester joined the faculty at SMU Dedman School of Law in 1990 and teaches in the areas of property, real estate transactions and land use.

She received her B.S.E.E. with highest honors in 1981 and her J.D. with high honors in 1985 from the University of Texas at Austin, where she was a member of the Texas Law Review, Chancellors, and The Order of the Coif. After graduation she was a real estate attorney with the Dallas law firm of Thompson & Knight.

Forrester, co-author of Property Law: Cases, Materials, and Questions (second edition, 2010, with Edward E. Chase), writes and speaks on real estate finance, the residential mortgage market, predatory lending and real property law. She was one of the first legal scholars to write about the problem of predatory lending in the subprime mortgage market, for which she was awarded the John Minor Wisdom Award for Academic Excellence in 1995.

She is a member of the American Law Institute and is on the executive committee of the American Association of Law Schools Real Estate Transactions Section. She recently served on the Texas State Bar Real Estate, Probate, and Trust Law Section committee charged with drafting the new Texas Assignment of Rents Act.

Written by Denise Gee

> Read more from SMU News

Former SMU law dean Charles O. Galvin dies

Former SMU Law Dean Charles O. GalvinCharles O. Galvin, Distinguished Professor Emeritus and former dean of SMU’s Dedman School of Law, died Jan. 27, 2011. He was 91.

A funeral Mass took place Jan. 31 at St. Rita’s Catholic Church in Dallas.

Galvin, who was active at the national level, was dean of the law school from 1963 to 1978 and was a member of the faculty for more than 30 years.

“Dean Galvin was one of the greatest deans in the history of the law school and one of the foremost tax professors of his time,” said John Attanasio, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law in Dedman Law. “This is a great loss for the law school, the university, and the entire community.”

Among Galvin’s many contributions to the law school were the completion of the law quadrangle with the building of Underwood Law Library, the inception of the Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship Program, and the establishment of the William Hawley Atwell Chair of Constitutional Law, the law school’s first endowed chair.

SMU Provost Emeritus James E. Brooks, who was provost during Dean Galvin’s tenure, said, “Charley Galvin was one of the most effective deans this University has had. He not only was a skilled and enlightened dean of the School of Law but was very much a citizen of the University who could be counted on to be a steady and positive hand when basic University issues and values were at stake.”

Galvin began his academic career at SMU, where he received his B.S.C. degree with highest honors in 1940. Subsequently, he earned an M.B.A. degree with distinction from Northwestern University before serving in the U.S. Navy in World War II with the rank of Lieutenant Commander.

Dean Galvin returned to Northwestern after the war and received his Juris Doctor degree in 1947 and later, his S.J.D. from Harvard. He was awarded an honorary LL.D. degree from Capital University in 1990.

In 1952, Dean Robert G. Storey invited Galvin to join the SMU Law School faculty, where he remained for more than 30 years. From 1963-78, he served as dean.

Galvin was the Centennial Professor of Law at Vanderbilt University from 1983-1990. He also taught at Harvard, Michigan, Northwestern, Duke, Pepperdine, UT-Austin and the University of Kansas. He wrote numerous important works on federal tax law and other subjects in collaboration with Boris Bittker.

Dean Galvin was a founding member of the Southwestern Legal Foundation, Taxation Editor of the Oil and Gas Reporter, and co-editor of the Texas Will Manual. He was also trustee of the American Tax Policy Institute and the U.S. Supreme Court Historical Society. Since 1993, he had been of counsel to Haynes and Boone, LLP. (Dallas) and served as an adjunct professor of law at Dedman Law for eight years.

Galvin received the Doctor of Laws degree honoris causa from SMU and was named a Distinguished Alumnus by SMU and Northwestern. He also received the Equal Justice Award from Legal Services of North Texas, the John Rogers Award from the Southwestern Legal Foundation, and the Dallas Independent School District Magnet School Award and the McGill Award from the Catholic Foundation of Dallas.

In 1999, the law school established the Charles O. Galvin Award for Service to SMU Dedman School of Law. “In establishing this award, the law school will continue to recognize his many accomplishments and his great service to the legal and academic community,” said Dean Attanasio.

> Read more from SMU News