Jody and Sheila Grant pledge $1.5 million to SMU’s Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center


Robson and Lindley Aquatics Center, artist's rendering

Former varsity swimmer Joseph M. “Jody” Grant ’60 met his wife, Sheila Peterson Grant, while they were both SMU students. Now they have provided $1.5 million to help fund the University’s new Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center.

With their gift, they’ve also created the Sheila and Jody Grant Challenge, which encourages other donors to give the remaining $1.5 million to complete the Center’s $22 million funding goal. The 42,000-square-foot facility, soon to be home to the University’s internationally recognized men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams, will be dedicated Friday, Nov. 3, 2017, during SMU Homecoming.

Jody and Sheila Grant
Jody and Sheila Grant

“As community business and philanthropic leaders, Jody and Sheila Grant know the importance of reaching the finish line and completing worthy goals,” said SMU President R. Gerald Turner. “Their generosity is inspirational and helps get us closer to completing funding for the Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center and providing a place where our student athletes can continue the championship legacy of SMU swimming and diving.”

Jody Grant attended SMU on a swimming scholarship. He earned four individual Southwest Conference swimming championships and was twice named to the All-America team.

“SMU’s swimming program has been near and dear to my heart since Coach Red Barr recruited me many years ago to swim for the Mustangs,” said Dr. Grant. “I am honored to support this new facility, which will be home for the swimming program that was so meaningful to me.”

> Read the full story from SMU News


SMU honors 2013 DAA Award, Emerging Leader winners Oct. 24

Brittany Merrill Underwood
Brittany Merrill Underwood ’07 will receive the Emerging Leader Award at SMU’s 2013 DAA Awards ceremony Oct. 24.

SMU will honor four leaders in philanthropy, business and civic life with the highest honor the University can bestow upon its graduates. The 2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards dinner and ceremony begin at 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 24 on the Main Quad.

The 2013 Distinguished Alumni are business leader Joseph M. “Jody” Grant ’60, investor Jeanne Roach Johnson ’54, and community leader Peggy Higgins Sewell ’72.

Brittany Merrill Underwood ’07, founder of the Akola Project and the Ugandan American Partnership Organization and an international advocate for women and children, will receive the University’s Emerging Leader Award. The honor recognizes the outstanding achievements of an alumnus or alumna who has graduated in the last 15 years.

> Read more about SMU’s 2013 Distinguished Alumni and Emerging Leader

During the ceremony, past DAA recipients will be honored as Centennial History Makers as part of SMU’s ongoing Second Century Celebration. Those whose accomplishments will be recognized include:

  • Michael M. Boone ’63, ’67
  • Laura Welch Bush ’68
  • Kirbyjon H. Caldwell ’81
  • Larry R. Faulkner ’66
  • Gerald J. Ford ’66, ’69
  • Terrybeth N. Ford ’74
  • Linda Harris Gibbons ’58
  • Alvis Forrest Gregg ’56
  • Robert W. Haley ’67
  • Mona Sheinfeld Hersh-Cochran ’64,’66
  • Ward L. Huey, Jr. ’60
  • Walter J. Humann ’67
  • William E. Joyce ’81
  • Christine Ann Loock ’76
  • John Lopez, III ’74
  • Thomas W. Luce, III ’62, ’66
  • Bobby B. Lyle ’67
  • James C. McCormick ’49 †
  • J. Barry McKernan ’65
  • Harriet E. Miers ’67, ’70
  • John J. Nance ’68, ’69
  • Benjamin R. Oliphint ’44 †
  • Cecil B. Phillips ’49
  • Richard W. Quick ’65, ’77 †
  • George T. Reynolds, III ’57
  • William C. Roberts ’54
  • Karen Livesay Shuford ’70
  • Charles Robert (Bob) Smith ’44 †
  • Aaron Spelling ’49 †
  • William B. Stallcup, Jr. ’41 †
  • H. Leighton Steward ’57, ’59
  • William Payne Stewart ’79 †
  • Regina A. Taylor ’81
  • James Cleo Thompson, Jr. ’52 †
  • Charles H. Trigg ’29 †
  • Mary Katherine (Kitty) Hughes Trigg ’31 †
  • Garry A. Weber ’58
  • Ewing Werlein, Jr. ’58
  • Martha Hess Whitehead ’62
  • Myra Nicol Williams ’63

William Allen Melton will receive the Mustang Award for Service.

For more information, visit SMU’s Distinguished Alumni Awards homepage or call 214-768-4468.

Read more about this year’s DAA honorees from SMU News
Find a list of past DAA recipients at the SMU Alumni site