For the Record: April 9, 2010

Mitch Thornton, Computer Science and Engineering and Electrical Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering, has received a Citation of Honor from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his “contributions to the advancement of software engineering licensure in the United States.” As chair of the IEEE-USA Committee on Licensure and Registration, he has worked to establish a national professional engineering licensure examination for software engineering practitioners.

Jessica Maxey, a sophomore double major in electrical engineering (Lyle School of Engineering) and mathematics (Dedman College), has been named a 2010 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. Two other SMU students received Honorable Mention: Katherine Deland, a sophomore biochemistry major in Dedman College; and Jessica Steinmann-Hermsen, a junior mechanical engineering major in Lyle School of Engineering.

The Goldwater Scholarship program was established by Congress in 1986 to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields. The SMU honorees were selected from among more than 1,000 candidates in the sciences, mathematics and engineering who were nominated by universities nationwide. Read more from the Goldwater Scholarship homepage.

Rebekah Bailey (’05), a 2nd-year student in Dedman School of Law, has received the Donald C. McCleary Gardere Leadership Scholarship from Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP. The scholarship is awarded annually to a 2nd-year SMU law student who has demonstrated leadership qualities consistent with the values embraced by Mr. McCleary, a former Gardere managing partner. Read more from Pegasus News.