Hot Links: Tommy Poynter makes Rudy Award list

SMU senior offensive lineman Tommy PoynterSenior offensive lineman Tommy Poynter (left) is a candidate for the 2008 College Football Rudy Award, as announced Dec. 10 by The Rudy Foundation charitable organization. The award honors student-athletes who “demonstrate exemplary character, courage, contribution and commitment” as members of their collegiate football teams. Read more.

Sophomore Silje Fjortoft and senior Jessa Simmons were named to Conference USA’s Cross Country All-Academic Team Dec. 10. Nominees for the All-Academic team must earn a 3.2 cumulative G.P.A. or better. Fjortoft and Simmons, both students in Dedman College, earned second-team honors. Read more.

Senior midfielder Jeff Harwell has been named third-team All-Midwest Region by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Harwell had 8 points in his senior season on a goal and 6 assists. His 6 assists tied him with teammate Gabe Arredondo for the second-highest total among all players in Conference USA. Read more.

SMU, CBS College Sports Network and Metro Sports Texas have reached an agreement to televise a total of 16 SMU men’s basketball games for the 2008-09 season on Time-Warner Cable in the Dallas/Fort Worth, Waco, Austin and San Antonio markets. In addition, 4 games will be televised on CBS College Sports Network. Read more.

Hot Links: Eight soccer players earn All-Conference honors

SMU's Paulo da SilvaThe 3rd season of “Inside College Hoops with Matt Doherty” debuts Nov. 24, 2008 on KAAM 770 AM, live from Ten Sports Grill, 1302 Main St. in downtown Dallas. Listen online and submit questions for Coach Doh or call in at 972-445-0770 or 877-272-5226. Read more.

The men’s soccer team fell to South Carolina 3-0 in the quarterfinals of the 2008 Conference USA tournament Nov. 12. The NCAA announces the field for its postseason tournament Nov. 17. Read more.

Meanwhile, 8 Mustang soccer players have earned All-Conference honors. On the men’s team, sophomore defender/midfielder Leone Cruz, junior forward Paulo da Silva (right), senior midfielder Jeff Harwell and sophomore midfielder Kekoa Osorio were named 2nd-team All-Conference. Midfielder Diogo de Almeida and forward Arthur Ivo were named to the Conference USA All-Freshman team. Read more.

On the women’s team, junior defender Kim Peabody was named first-team All-Conference, and first-year forward Logan May was selected to the league’s All-Freshman team. Read more.

SMU's Silje Fjortoft and Rachael ForishFresh from winning its first Conference USA title, the cross country team heads to Waco Nov. 15 for the 2008 NCAA South Central Regionals. Running for the 19th-ranked Mustangs will be the 2006 and 2007 South Central Regional Female Athletes of the Year, senior Rachael Forish and sophomore Silje Fjortoft. Fjortoft also owns the 2008 C-USA individual title after clocking the fastest 5K time in conference history, 16:46. (Left, Fjortoft and Forish.) Read more.

Senior Petra Klosova received her 6th career Conference USA Swimmer of the Week honor Nov. 11. The SMU Olympian was recognized for her performance at the 2008 Mean Green Duals Nov. 8, in which the SMU women’s swimming and diving team beat Colorado State, New Mexico State and North Texas. Read more.