James Brooks receives 2015 AAPG Presidential Award for Exemplary Service

James E, Brooks, SMU Institute for the Study of Earth and ManJames Brooks, provost emeritus and professor emeritus in SMU’s Roy M. Huffington Department of Earth Sciences, has received the 2015 AAPG Presidential Award for Exemplary Service, one of the highest honors of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG).

AAPG President Randi Martinsen bestowed the honor upon Brooks “for a lifetime of inspired and dedicated service to his profession and community, and for the education of hundreds of students for whom he has served as an outstanding teacher, wise mentor and genuine friend.”

AAPG is the premier organization for U.S. petroleum geologists. It is one of the world’s largest professional geological societies with more than 36,000 members.

Brooks, an AAPG member, is an expert in North American and Middle Eastern stratigraphy and geomorphology. He’s been at SMU for 60 years as a professor, department chair, dean of the Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, provost, interim University president and as chairman of the Institute for the Study of Earth and Man (ISEM) in SMU’s Department of Earth Sciences.

Officially retired, he remains on the department staff in various roles, including as president emeritus and vice chair of the board of trustees for ISEM.

“He is a beloved teacher, mentor, role model, counselor and principal professor of dozens of M.S. theses and Ph.D. dissertations,” said former AAPG President James Gibbs. “He has been very supportive of petroleum geology science and business.”

In announcing the award, the AAPG commended Brooks — an AAPG member — for his inspired and dedicated service to his profession, community and students.

“I’ve known Jim for 40 years, and he is a man whose character, accomplishments and modesty I greatly admire,” said past AAPG president Marlan W. Downey.

“An extraordinary number of distinguished people have passed under Jim’s wings at SMU and ISEM in Dallas and have been influenced by him,” Downey said. “Jim is one of the ‘good guys.’”

Written by SMU and AAPG

> Read the full story from the SMU Research blog

Former SMU law dean Charles O. Galvin dies

Former SMU Law Dean Charles O. GalvinCharles O. Galvin, Distinguished Professor Emeritus and former dean of SMU’s Dedman School of Law, died Jan. 27, 2011. He was 91.

A funeral Mass took place Jan. 31 at St. Rita’s Catholic Church in Dallas.

Galvin, who was active at the national level, was dean of the law school from 1963 to 1978 and was a member of the faculty for more than 30 years.

“Dean Galvin was one of the greatest deans in the history of the law school and one of the foremost tax professors of his time,” said John Attanasio, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law in Dedman Law. “This is a great loss for the law school, the university, and the entire community.”

Among Galvin’s many contributions to the law school were the completion of the law quadrangle with the building of Underwood Law Library, the inception of the Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship Program, and the establishment of the William Hawley Atwell Chair of Constitutional Law, the law school’s first endowed chair.

SMU Provost Emeritus James E. Brooks, who was provost during Dean Galvin’s tenure, said, “Charley Galvin was one of the most effective deans this University has had. He not only was a skilled and enlightened dean of the School of Law but was very much a citizen of the University who could be counted on to be a steady and positive hand when basic University issues and values were at stake.”

Galvin began his academic career at SMU, where he received his B.S.C. degree with highest honors in 1940. Subsequently, he earned an M.B.A. degree with distinction from Northwestern University before serving in the U.S. Navy in World War II with the rank of Lieutenant Commander.

Dean Galvin returned to Northwestern after the war and received his Juris Doctor degree in 1947 and later, his S.J.D. from Harvard. He was awarded an honorary LL.D. degree from Capital University in 1990.

In 1952, Dean Robert G. Storey invited Galvin to join the SMU Law School faculty, where he remained for more than 30 years. From 1963-78, he served as dean.

Galvin was the Centennial Professor of Law at Vanderbilt University from 1983-1990. He also taught at Harvard, Michigan, Northwestern, Duke, Pepperdine, UT-Austin and the University of Kansas. He wrote numerous important works on federal tax law and other subjects in collaboration with Boris Bittker.

Dean Galvin was a founding member of the Southwestern Legal Foundation, Taxation Editor of the Oil and Gas Reporter, and co-editor of the Texas Will Manual. He was also trustee of the American Tax Policy Institute and the U.S. Supreme Court Historical Society. Since 1993, he had been of counsel to Haynes and Boone, LLP. (Dallas) and served as an adjunct professor of law at Dedman Law for eight years.

Galvin received the Doctor of Laws degree honoris causa from SMU and was named a Distinguished Alumnus by SMU and Northwestern. He also received the Equal Justice Award from Legal Services of North Texas, the John Rogers Award from the Southwestern Legal Foundation, and the Dallas Independent School District Magnet School Award and the McGill Award from the Catholic Foundation of Dallas.

In 1999, the law school established the Charles O. Galvin Award for Service to SMU Dedman School of Law. “In establishing this award, the law school will continue to recognize his many accomplishments and his great service to the legal and academic community,” said Dean Attanasio.

> Read more from SMU News