SMU spring ceremonies honor outstanding achievement

Honors Day Convocation 2010SMU celebrates the approaching end of the 2010-11 academic year with two traditional ceremonies honoring some of its most distinguished faculty, staff and students. The 2011 Honors Day Convocation and Awards Extravaganza take place on the afternoon and evening of April 11.

Peter Raad, founding director of the Linda and Mitch Hart eCenter at SMU and executive director of The Guildhall at SMU, will deliver the address at the 14th annual Honors Day Convocation at 5:30 p.m. in McFarlin Auditorium. The ceremony celebrates academic achievement at the University and department levels. Retired and current faculty will assemble in academic dress no later than 5:10 p.m. in the Perkins Administration Building lobby and will process together to McFarlin Auditorium. A reception follows the Convocation in the Dallas Hall Quadrangle.

> Read the list of 2011 Honors Convocation award recipients

Participating faculty members may RSVP online. Faculty members with questions regarding the faculty procession can send an e-mail to or call 214-768-3417.

Later, the University presents several awards for excellence – including its highest honor, the “M” Award – during the 2011 Awards Extravaganza at 7:30 p.m. in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Ballrooms. Awards Extravaganza honorees will be listed in SMU Forum the day after the ceremony.

Photo from Honors Day Convocation 2010 by Hillsman S. Jackson

> Find more information on Honors Day Convocation at the Registrar’s website
> Learn more about the Awards Extravaganza from SMU Student Life