Reserve by April 24 for 2009 Godbey Awards luncheon

godbey-authors-awards-2009-300.jpgThree outstanding SMU faculty authors will be honored for books published in 2008 at the 29th annual Godbey Lecture Series Authors’ Award Luncheon. The 2009 ceremony takes place 11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m. April 29 in the Umphrey Lee Ballroom.

The price for the luncheon is $17 per person, and the reservation deadline is Friday, April 24. For more information or to reserve a place, contact Deborah Martin in the Godbey Lecture Series office, 214-768-2532.

The Godbey Authors’ Awards are presented by the Godbey Lecture Series in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. Honorees are chosen for their outstanding scholarly research, publications and teaching ability. Each receives a prize of $1,000.

The 2009 honorees are:

Eric Barnes, professor of philosophy in Dedman College, for The Paradox of Predictivism (Cambridge University Press)

Seyom Brown, John Goodwin Tower Distinguished Chair in International Politics and National Security in the Department of Political Science, Dedman College, for Higher Realism: A New Foreign Policy for the United States (Paradigm Publishers)

Benjamin Heber Johnson, associate professor in the William P. Clements Department of History, Dedman College, for Bordertown: The Odyssey of an American Place (Yale University Press)