For the Record: March 6, 2009

Sherry Smith, University Distinguished Professor of History and associate director of the Clements Center for Southwest Studies, Dedman College, has received a 2009-10 Los Angeles Times Distinguished Fellowship from the Huntington Library. She will spend the next academic year doing research at the Huntington.

Hillsman S. Jackson, University Photographer, Public Affairs, has been named 2009-10 president of the Dallas chapter of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP). Founded in 1944, the ASMP (originally the Society of Magazine Photographers and later the American Society of Magazine Photographers) has more than 5,000 members in 39 chapters nationwide. The organization “promotes photographers’ rights, educates photographers in better business practices, produces business publications for photographers and helps buyers find professional photographers.”