University celebrates December Graduation Dec. 13

December Graduation imageThe SMU community will celebrate the graduation of more than 900 students Dec. 13 in Moody Coliseum.

Ceremonies will begin at 7 p.m. with a student and faculty procession and are expected to last about two hours. Speakers will include the following:

  • President R. Gerald Turner
  • Carl Sewell (’66), chair of the SMU Board of Trustees
  • Darrell Lafitte (’54), former SMU All-America football player and a recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Dennis Foster, Faculty Senate president and D.D. Frensley Professor of English
  • Student Body President Rob Hayden

“The spirit of community combined with our celebration of the individual makes SMU’s December Graduation Convocation a special time,” President Turner says.

Faculty members will assemble for procession no later than 6:30 p.m. in Classroom One of the Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports. Prior to the ceremony, a faculty reception will begin at 5:45 p.m. in Classroom One of the Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports. Faculty members may RSVP online for the reception and Processional.

Find information for students, faculty and guests at the University Registrar’s December Graduation home page.

Distinguished Alumni Awards among 2008 Homecoming highlights

Richie ButlerFive leaders in business, technology and community service have been named to receive SMU’s 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor the university bestows upon its graduates. The banquet and ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. Nov. 6 in the Khmer Pavilion of the Hilton Anatole Hotel, 2201 Stemmons Freeway.

The 2008 DAA Award recipients are:

Darrell Lafitte (’54), SMU All-America football player turned banker
Malcolm Morris (’68), Millennium Water Alliance founder and chair
Gary Pittman (’53), Texas Instruments researcher and co-inventor of the light-emitting diode (LED)
Richard Ware (’68), president of Amarillo National Bank, one of the largest family-owned banks in the country

Richie Butler (’93, right) will receive the 2008 Emerging Leader Award, which recognizes an outstanding alumnus or alumna who has graduated within the last 15 years. Butler helped create Unity Estates, a planned community of 285 single-family homes in South Dallas sponsored by the 70-member African American Pastors’ Coalition. He also founded the church community Union Cathedral, which he currently serves as the senior pastor.

The DAA Awards are a traditional highlight of SMU’s annual Homecoming celebration. The 2008 Homecoming, “Rolling Out the Red Carpet,” takes place Nov. 2-9. The Homecoming game against Memphis begins at 2 p.m. Nov. 8 in Ford Stadium.

Learn more about SMU’s Distinguished Alumni Awards
More Homecoming information from the SMU Student Foundation