For the Record: May 7, 2009

Jim Copeland, former SMU athletics director, will be inducted into the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Hall Of Fame as part of its 2009 class, the organization announced May 5. Copeland will be among eight administrators joining the Hall. He retired from SMU in May 2006 after 12 years with the University and was the Mustangs’ second longest-serving A.D. (Madison “Matty” Bell served 18 years in the position from 1947-64). Read more.

SMU Fulbright Fellow Kylie QuaveKylie Quave (top right), a graduate student in archaeology in Dedman College, has received a Fulbright U.S. Student Fellowship to conduct archaeological fieldwork and research in southeastern Peru, the heart of the ancient Inca empire. During the 10-month fellowship beginning in August 2009, she intends to excavate residences on the estate of 16th-century emperor Huayna Capac. She hopes to shed light on the Inca elites who lived there and supervised the estate’s daily operations, immigrant laborers and land, which had been appropriated by the nobility. Read more.

SMU Presidential Fellow Cody MeadorCody Meador (lower right), a junior political science major in Dedman College, has been named a 2009-10 Presidential Fellow by the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress in Washington, D.C. She is one of 85 students from across the country to receive the honor. She will have the opportunity to interact with high-level government officials involved in the policy-making process and will develop and present a research paper on the consequences of presidential action and inaction on global environmental treaties. Read more.

SMU volunteer leaders honored with 2009 service awards

ACE House students and SMU mentorsSMU students, faculty and staff who lead and serve their community were recognized April 15 during the 2009 Excellence in Service and Leadership Awards.

The awards were sponsored by the University’s Office of Leadership and Community Involvement, which supports leadership and service activities on campus and in North Texas.

Wright L. Lassiter Jr., chancellor of the Dallas County Community College District, delivered the keynote address, in which he urged students to lead with their hearts and make an impact in their communities.

“As my father told me from a young age, ‘Service is the rent you pay for the space you occupy here on earth,'” Lassiter said. “And then he would add, ‘Junior, I want you to always live in a high-rent district.'”

This year’s winners include:

Leadership Awards

  • Outstanding President: Jaipreet Singh Suri, president of the Sikh Student Association
  • Outstanding Student Leader: Keelie Rood, director of administration for Student Foundation
  • Individual with Outstanding Leadership Skills: Clayton Gregory
  • Outstanding Residence Life Leader: Nicola Muchnikoff, resident assistant in McElvaney Hall

Service Awards

  • Inspirational Adviser: Erin Duffy, campus minister for Catholic Campus Ministry
  • Individual Dedicated to Service: Cody Meador, founder of the SMU chapter of Democracy Matters and Dallas Stewpot volunteer
  • Student Organization: Black Men Emerging
  • Greek Organization: Omega Psi Phi

Service-Learning Faculty Awards

  • Newcomer in Service-Learning: Julie Adkins, anthropology instructor, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Excellence in Service-Learning: Bruce Levy, director of the Center for Academic-Community Engagement and senior lecturer in English, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

(Above, young students and their SMU tutors outside the University’s Academic-Community Engagement (ACE) House in East Dallas.)

Visit the Office of Leadership and Community Involvement on the web

For the Record: March 26, 2009

Bonnie Wheeler, English/Medieval Studies, Dedman College, spoke in the Conference of Historical Journals at the American Historical Association’s 2009 meeting in January. Her lecture on emerging challenges to the identities of traditional humanities journals was covered by The Chronicle of Higher Education in an article published in the March 27, 2009 issue. She is editor of the journal Arthuriana and president of the Council of Editors of Learned Journals.

Cody Meador, a rising senior political science major in Dedman College, has been selected as SMU’s 2009-10 Presidential Fellow to the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress in Washington, D.C. The University names one Fellow each year who attends two conferences in Washington and writes a policy paper for the Center. Read Cody’s summer 2008 service blog at SMU’s Student Adventures site.

Ben Manthey, a graduating senior history major and Chinese minor in Dedman College, has received a 2009-10 Fellowship to the Princeton in Asia Program. He will spend the academic year in Beijing. Founded in 1898, Princeton in Asia’s mission is to foster cross-cultural understanding between Asians and Americans by giving young people opportunities to live and work in Asia. Read Ben’s spring 2008 China blog at SMU’s Student Adventures site.