Outstanding library staff members receive service awards

Five exemplary librarians and library staff members have received the 2009 SMU Libraries Staff Service Awards. The awards recognize outstanding contributions to the Libraries and to the information professions, as well as service to library users.

Jim Quevedo, Central University Libraries, was named Employee of the Year, awarded to a library staff member who has demonstrated exemplary service and successful management of one or more major projects or innovations that enhance service or improve operations and reflect positively on the University.

John Milazzo, Central University Libraries, received the Continuing Excellence Award. The honor recognizes a staff member who has “set an example of knowledge, expertise, dedication and enthusiasm” and “the highest level of commitment to service to library users and SMU faculty and staff” for a minimum of three years.

Yan (Patricia) Silong, Cox Business Information Center, was named Outstanding Student Assistant. The prize goes to a student employee who has demonstrated exemplary continuing performance during a minimum of two full semesters of employment. The selection committee considers work habits, knowledge of work, quality and quantity of work, judgment, initiative, adaptability and reliability.

Christine Asberry Milazzo, Central University Libraries, received the award for Effective Use of Technology. The honor is given to a library staff member who has developed and/or implemented an effective use of information technology that enhances library services and operations.

Jon Speck, Bridwell Library, received the Outstanding Achievement Award, given to a librarian or professional library staff member who has contributed significantly to the SMU community or to the information professions through personal service, leadership, scholarship or involvement in professional associations. The winner must maintain a record of exemplary work for a period of 3-5 years.

In addition, the following personnel received Central University Libraries (CUL) awards:

Cindy Gautreaux and Tyeson Seale received the CUL Dean’s Eureka! Award, presented to CUL staff members who showed the most creativity, ingenuity and imagination.

The CUL Cookout Committee – Carol Baker, Cindy Gautreaux, Michelle Hahn, Terre Heydari, Christine Milazzo and John Milazzo – received the CUL Team Award for organizing and serving an outdoor cookout for SMU students, faculty and staff during National Library Week.

SMU Libraries announce 2008 Staff Award winners

The SMU Libraries honored some of its indispensable associates, as nominated by the SMU community, at its 2008 Libraries Staff Awards ceremony May 9 in DeGolyer Library. Staff members from Central University Libraries, Bridwell Library, Underwood Law Library and the Business Information Center were eligible to be nominated for the awards, which carry a cash prize of $500 each.

This year’s recipients:

• Employee of the Year – Cindy Gautreaux, Central University Libraries

• Outstanding Achievement – Sam Ratcliffe and Ellen Buie Niewyk, Central University Libraries

• Continuing Excellence – Maria Isabel Lopes Garcia, Central University Libraries

• Effective Use of Information Technology – Robert Walker, Central University Libraries

• Outstanding Student Assistants – Thien Ho, Business Information Center, and Valencia Pan, Underwood Law Library

In addition, the following staffers received Central University Libraries Awards:

• Dean’s Eureka Award – Cindy Gautreaux

• CUL Team Award – The Digitization Advisory Group: Stacey Beach, Jorge Cruz, Michael Seifi, Robert Walker and Brad Wehring