For the Record: Mar. 6, 2008

M.F.A. student in sculpture J. Neil Lawley has received a 2008-09 Jacob K. Javits Fellowship, awarded to students of “superior ability, achievement, and promise” for study at the doctoral or M.F.A. level in selected fields of arts, humanities and social sciences. The fellowship provides tuition and fees, and a living stipend of up to $30,000.

Soumya Awasthi, a 2007 Ph.D. graduate in biological sciences, has received a postdoctoral fellowship in the Harvard Medical School Division of Neurosciences. She will conduct research on Herpes Simplex viral vectors for gene-delivery and expression in the developing brain.

Ph.D. student in psychology Angie Berry has received a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard Medical School’s McLean Hospital.

Warren C. Seay Jr., a Hunt Leadership Scholar and sophomore political science major, has been chosen as a member of the Institute for Responsible Citizenship‘s Class of 2009. The Institute selects 24 students nationally to participate in its intensive two-summer program.