For the Record: April 23, 2009

Amy Revier, a senior studio art major and Hunt Leadership Scholar in Meadows School of the Arts, has received a Fulbright Grant to study in Iceland during 2009-10. She will work in the studio of internationally recognized sculpture and textile artist Hildur Bjarnadóttir in Reykjavik, as well as volunteer at the National Gallery of Iceland.

Two journalism majors in Meadows School of the Arts have been honored by the Fort Worth Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Senior Erin Eidenshink and Tiffany Glick (’08) received a 2008 First Amendment Award for In-Depth Reporting for their series on sexual assault, “Invisible Victims.” It is the 3rd time in 5 years that SMU students have won the award.

Santiago Nunez, a senior economics major in Dedman College, has received the 2009 Arthur A. Smith Memorial Award Recognizing Student Excellence in Economics for his essay “Lethal Black Gold: Nigeria’s Oil Curse and How to Cure It.” The DFW Association for Business Economics gives the award annually to an outstanding economics, business or finance undergraduate from an area university. The prize includes a $1,000 cash award.

Marko Pavlovic, a student of Carol Leone in the Artist Certificate degree program of Meadows School of the Arts, won 1st place in the piano division of the 25th annual Young Texas Artists Music Competition. The 3-day event is open to musicians, age 18-30, who are Texas residents or enrolled in a Texas college, university or music school.