Notes from the Fall 2009 General Faculty Meeting

C. Michael Hawn, professor of church music and director of the Master of Sacred Music Program in Perkins School of Theology, was honored as the 2008-09 United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year at SMU’s Fall 2009 General Faculty Meeting Aug. 26.

New University Chaplain Stephen Rankin gave the invocation, and President R. Gerald Turner updated the faculty on enrollment, the Second Century Campaign and other issues surrounding campus life. Provost Paul Ludden presented newly tenured faculty members with their regalia.