Calendar Highlights: Back to school in brief, Fall 2017

 

Dallas Hall steps from a 3rd-story window

As the 2017-18 academic year gets rolling, here are a few Fall 2017 dates to remember:

  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 4 (University offices closed, no classes)
  • First Faculty Senate Meeting of 2017-18: Wednesday, Sept. 6
  • Family Weekend: Friday-Sunday, Sept. 22-24
  • Fall Break: Monday-Tuesday, Oct. 9-10
  • Homecoming Weekend: Friday-Saturday, Nov. 3-4
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday-Friday, Nov. 23-24 (University offices closed, no classes on Wednesday, Nov. 23)
  • Last day of classes: Monday, Dec. 4
  • Reading days: Tuesday-Wednesday, Dec. 5-6
  • Final exams: Thursday-Wednesday, Dec. 7-13 (no exams scheduled for Sunday)
  • December Commencement Convocation: Saturday, Dec. 16 (official close of term and date for conferral of degrees)
  • Christmas/Winter Break: Monday, Dec. 25, 2017-Monday, Jan. 1, 2018 (University offices closed)

Visit the SMU calendar to keep an eye on upcoming events.