SMU recognizes outstanding achievement at 2015-16 Hilltop Excellence Awards, Honors Convocation

2013 laurelsSMU faculty, staff, administrators and students were recognized with teaching awards, service honors and the University’s highest commendation, the “M” Award, at the 2016 Hilltop Excellence Awards Monday, April 18.

> Read the list of award winners from Honors Convocation 2016

On the same day, the University honored its best students at the 19th Honors Convocation. The address was delivered by Fred Chang, director of SMU’s Darwin Deason Institute for Cyber Security, the Bobby B. Lyle Endowed Centennial Distinguished Chair in Cyber Security and professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering.

An internationally renowned expert in cyber security and former director of research of the National Security Agency, Chang is also a Senior Fellow in the John Goodwin Tower Center for Political Studies in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences and a Distinguished Scholar in the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law at the University of Texas at Austin.

The lead inventor on two U.S. patents, Chang has twice served as an expert witness at hearings convened by the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space and Technology. In addition, he has served as a member of the Commission on Cyber Security for the 44th Presidency and as a member of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board of the National Academies. Most recently, Chang was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 9, 2016.

Congratulations to SMU faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the 2016 Awards Extravaganza on Monday, April 18.

Receiving the “M” Award, SMU’s most prestigious honor, are five faculty and staff members and 10 students (see below) whose contributions to the University are “above and beyond the call of duty.” Faculty and staff recipients include:

Charles Curran, Elizabeth Scurlock University Professor of Human Values
• Michael Hogan, assistant to the dean and coordinator of student life, Office of the Dean of Student Life
Robert Krout, professor and chair of music therapy, Division of Music, Meadows School of the Arts, and founding faculty-in-residence, Mary Hay/Peyton/Shuttles Commons
• Rev. Dr. Stephen Rankin, chaplain and minister to the University
• Martha Starke, coordinator of the President’s Scholars Program, Office of the Provost

The Students’ Association Awards recognize faculty, administrators, staff members and trustees for giving unselfishly to the students and the University as a whole. The recipients are:

• Outstanding Administrator – Albert W. Niemi Jr., dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership, Cox School of Business
• Outstanding Trustee – Connie O’Neill ’77, Dallas civic and philanthropic leader
• Outstanding Staff Member – Abigail Hernandez, Facility Services

The Willis M. Tate Award, also given by the Students’ Association, was presented to Maureen Armour, associate professor and co-director of the Civil Clinic, Dedman School of Law. The award honors an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Recipients of the Outstanding Professor Awards presented by the Rotunda yearbook include:

• Jill Allor, professor, Department of Teaching and Learning, Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development
• B. Sunday Eiselt, associate professor and director of undergraduate studies, Department of Anthropology, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
• Simon Mak, professor of practice, Department of Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Business Economics, and associate director of the Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship, Cox School of Business
• Laurence Winnie, senior lecturer and director of undergraduate studies, William P. Clements Department of History, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Receiving the Extra Mile Awards, presented by Students for New Learning for graciousness and sensitivity to students with learning differences:

• Sheri Kunovich, associate professor, Department of Sociology, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
• Steve Lee, adjunct lecturer, Division of Corporate Communication and Public Affairs, Meadows School of the Arts
Laurie Nuchereno, adjunct lecturer, Department of Economics, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

The Office of Community Engagement and Leadership’s Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award was presented to Jay Miller, executive director of Student Media Company, Inc. The award honors exemplary community service outside the University.

Superior students

Student recipients of the “M” Award:

• Carlton Adams
• Max Agadoni
• D’Marquis Allen
• Jacob Conway
• Tien Dang
• Emily Dombrowski
• Jamie Hinz
• Justin Mueller
• J. Barrett “JB” Stockslager
• Charlie Weber

Other students recognized with special awards include:

• Meaghan Shaw – James E. Caswell Award, based on contributions to resident student life
• Nohemi Mora – Umphrey Lee Award, based on involvement in the SMU community
• Keya Tollossa – Avella Winn Hay Award, based on scholarship, character and contribution to the SMU community

Receiving John L. Freehafer Awards based on recipients’ interest in student life, activities and government are:

• Aveline Chan
• Richmond Dewan
Clark Holt
• Jessica Mitchell
• Alex Silhanek
• Angela Wang

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

Avery Acker – Scholar/Athlete Award
Katie Maiers – Scholar/Leader Award
• Anna Norkett – Scholar/Volunteer Award

SMU Dads’ Club – Outstanding Senior Man Award:

• Max Agadoni

SMU Mothers’ Club – Outstanding Senior Woman Award:

• Emily Towler

Office of the Chaplain – Sheri Mooney Memorial Scholarship Award:

• T.I. Atkins
• Katie Logsdon
• Lee Mak

Women & LGBT Center – Emmie V. Baine Legacy Award:

• Jennifer Torres

Students receiving the A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award are:

• La’Keisha Adams
• Jason Barnett
• Caroline Deaton
• Hannah Hess
• Carmen Maciel
• Jennifer Torres