Three named 2015-17 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors 2015-17
Jill DeTemple, Darius Miller and Yildirim Hürmüzlü were named SMU’s 2015-17 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors during the University’s Board of Trustees meeting in May.

Three of SMU’s best teachers have been named 2015-17 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors, as announced by the University’s Center for Teaching Excellence during the Board of Trustees meeting Thursday, May 7, 2015.

The 2015 honorees are Jill DeTemple, Religious Studies, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences; Yildirim Hürmüzlü, Mechanical Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering; and Darius Miller, Finance, Cox School of Business.

The new members of SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers will join returning members Jaime Clark-Soles, New Testament, Perkins School of Theology; Michael Lattman, Chemistry, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences; and Paige Ware, Teaching and Learning, Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development.

Each year since 2001, the Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Awards, named for SMU Trustee Ruth Altshuler, recognize SMU faculty members for their commitment to and achievements in fostering student learning.

“These are faculty whose concerns for higher education go beyond classroom boundaries and often the boundaries of their own discipline,” according to the CTE. “They represent the highest achievement in reaching the goals of higher education.”

Each recipient receives a $10,000 award and membership in SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers for the two years of their appointment as Altshuler Professors. Members participate actively with other members of the Academy to address issues in classroom teaching.

Jill DeTemple has been a member of the Religious Studies faculty in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences since 2005. A creative teacher who employs small group exercises and innovative uses of technology in her courses, she is also a leader in creating service learning projects for her students and had a central role in helping to develop student learning outcomes for the University Curriculum (UC). She has won numerous awards as an SMU professor, including the Golden Mustang Award, the Rotunda Outstanding Professor award, and the Newcomer to Service Learning Award. She has also been named a H.O.P.E. (Honoring our Professors’ Excellence) professor four times. In addition, DeTemple serves in the Faculty Senate and facilitates a Faculty Learning Community for her colleagues. She earned her Ph.D. in religious studies from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, her Master of Theological Studies from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. degree from Bowdoin College.

Yildirim Hürmüzlü, director of SMU’s Systems, Measurement and Control Laboratory, has been a professor in the Lyle School of Engineering’s Department of Mechanical Engineering since 1987. A distinguished scholar in the area of dynamics and controls, he has published more than 40 articles in his field’s top journals and holds five patents. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering and has served as a visiting fellow at Cambridge University. His SMU service includes six years as department chair, and he has received the Outstanding Professor Award in Mechanical Engineering eight times. He challenges his students with demanding content and promotes their success by helping them to develop solid understandings of the field’s underlying principles. Hürmüzlü received his Ph.D. and Master of Science in mechanical engineering and mechanics from Drexel University, and his B.S. degree from Bogazici University in Istanbul, Turkey.

Darius Miller, professor of finance and Caruth Chair in Finance, has served in SMU’s Cox School of Business since 2004. His research and publications on international finance rank among the top worldwide, and he has published extensively in major accounting journals. He introduces his and other scholars’ new and relevant research into the classroom in the form of group discussions and case studies. He also strives to teach his students to question modern theories and develop their abilities to think critically, both in the classroom and in their lives beyond school. His previous honors for teaching include five M.B.A. Distinguished Teaching Awards, the President’s Associates Outstanding Faculty Award, and the Boghetich Family Distinguished Teaching Award. Miller earned his Ph.D. in finance from the University of California-Irvine, his M.B.A. from Loyola University, and a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering from Tulane University.