SMU hails outstanding achievement at 2013-14 Awards Extravaganza, Honors Convocation

2013 laurelsSMU faculty, staff, administrators and students were recognized with teaching awards, service honors and the University’s highest commendation, the “M” Award, at the 2014 Awards Extravaganza Monday, April 21.

> See images from Honors Convocation 2014 at SMU News

On the same day, the University honored its best students at the 17th Honors Convocation. The address was delivered by Eric Bing, professor of global health in the Department of Applied Physiology and Wellness in SMU’s Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development and in the Department of Anthropology in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.

Bing, who holds a concurrent appointment with the George W. Bush Institute as senior fellow and director of global health, has developed and managed global health programs in Africa, Central America and the Caribbean, including HIV prevention, care and treatment programs in Rwanda, Angola, Nigeria, Namibia, Belize and Jamaica.

Find a list of University, school and departmental awards from Honors Convocation 2014

See the Awards Extravaganza 2014 winners list under the link.

Congratulations to SMU faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the 2014 Awards Extravaganza on Monday, April 21.

Receiving the “M” Award, SMU’s most prestigious honor, are five faculty and staff members and 10 students (see below) whose contributions to the University are “above and beyond the call of duty.” Faculty and staff recipients include:

• Marilyn “Birdie” Barr, senior lecturer and associate director of wellness, Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development
• Stephanie Dupaul, associate provost, Enrollment Management, Office of the Provost
• Tony Pederson, Professor and The Belo Foundation Endowed Distinguished Chair in Journalism, Meadows School of the Arts
Jennifer Post, director of residence life, Residence Life and Student Housing
• Lori S. White, vice president for student affairs

During the 2013-14 academic year, for the first time, two SMU community members were presented with honorary “M” Awards. The late Dennis Cordell, professor of history and associate dean for the University Curriculum, and the late Robert Van Kemper, professor of anthropology, were both previous nominees for the honor. Members of their departments presented their “M” Award certificates and pins in Fall 2013. Both professors were honored in memory during the Extravaganza.

The Students’ Association Awards recognize faculty, administrators, staff members and trustees for giving unselfishly to the students and the University as a whole. The recipients are:

• Outstanding Administrator – Steve Rankin, University chaplain
• Outstanding Trustee – Gerald J. Ford, Diamond A Ford Corporation

The Willis M. Tate Award, also given by the Students’ Association, was presented to Brad Carter, associate professor of political science, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. The award honors an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Recipients of the Outstanding Professor Awards presented by the Rotunda yearbook include:

• David Croson, clinical professor of strategy, entrepreneurship and business economics, Cox School of Business
• Pamela Harris-Hackett, visiting lecturer in journalism, Meadows School of the Arts
• Daniel Millimet, professor of economics, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
• Ross Murfin, E.A. Lilly Distinguished Professor of English Literature, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Receiving the Extra Mile Awards, presented by Students for New Learning for graciousness and sensitivity to students with learning differences:

• Victoria Lockwood, associate professor and director of graduate studies in anthropology, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
• Steve Robertson, senior lecturer in statistical science, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

The Office of Community Engagement and Leadership’s Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award was presented to Owen Lynch, associate professor and director of the Honors Program and SMU London Internships in Communication Studies, Meadows School of the Arts. The award honors exemplary community service outside the University.

Receiving the Leadership in Sustainability Award from the SMU Sustainability Committee was environmental science and chemistry major Jewel Lipps, SMU Environmental Society president and Dedman College student representative to the SMU Sustainability Committee. She has conducted environmental research as part of Dedman College’s Gaffney Family Interdisciplinary Initiative at ISEM and the National Science Foundation’s Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program.

Superior students

Student recipients of the “M” Award:

• Antonea Bastian
• Zane Cavender
• Ashley Garner
• Michael Graves
• Lauren Lyngstad
• Jaywin Malhi
• Anthony McAuliffe
• Devean Owens
• Genesis Reed
• Ramon Trespalacios

Other students recognized with special awards include:

• Amanda Thornton – James E. Caswell Award, based on contributions to resident student life
• Oscar Cetina – Umphrey Lee Award, based on involvement in the SMU community
• Kaleigh Schropp – Avella Winn Hay Award, based on scholarship, character and contribution to the SMU community

Receiving John L. Freehafer Awards based on recipients’ interest in student life, activities and government are:

• Mehdi Hami
• Geenah Krisht
• David Lee
• Melissa Maguire
• Jack Murphy
• William O’Connor

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

• Maria Elena Villamil Rodriguez – Scholar/Athlete Award
• Fantine Giap – Scholar/Leader Award
• Mai Bedair – Scholar/Volunteer Award

SMU Dads’ Club – Outstanding Senior Man Award:

• George Utkov

SMU Mothers’ Club – Outstanding Senior Woman Award:

• Jennifer Lauren Smith

Office of the Chaplain – Sheri Mooney Memorial Scholarship Award:

• Michael Dearman
• Stephanie Embree
• Lauren Ford
• Su Hyun Han
• Ben Hughes

Women’s Center for Pride and Gender Initiatives – Emmie V. Baine Legacy Award:

• Melissa Maguire

Students receiving the A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award are:

• Caroline Aston
• Lauren Fann
• Faith Miller
• Marcial Sanchez
• Tyler Sanford
• Mary-Ashley Seabrook