Kay Hutchison, R. Gerald Turner and Swanee Hunt, SMU Honorary Degree Portraits 2013 by Hillsman S. Jackson

Former U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (left) and ambassador and professor Swanee Hunt, with President R. Gerald Turner. Both women received 2013 honorary degrees from SMU. Photo: Hillsman S. Jackson.

SMU’s Faculty Senate is seeking nominations for the honorary degree class of 2014. Nominees should be individuals “whose uncommon personal accomplishments at home or abroad have served society and the public good, or who enlarge human understanding and enrich human life, in any field of endeavor.” The deadline to nominate is Monday, Sept. 30.

Nominations should include:

  • a note identifying your membership in the SMU community
  • a 1-2 page statement detailing the nominee’s contributions
  • supporting biographical documentation
  • contact information for the nominee

Check SMU’s criteria for honorary degree selection (PDF format), and send nominations via e-mail or regular mail to Faculty Senate Secretary Steven Vik, SMU Box 750241, Dallas TX 75275.

Read the honorary degree criteria
Find a list of previous recipients at the Registrar’s homepage