CTE recognizes 2011-12 Peer Feedback Program participants

SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) recognizes 12 faculty members for serving in its Peer Feedback Program during 2011-12.

The CTE established the program in Fall 2010 as part of its mission to enhance teaching effectiveness across campus. The program matches a faculty member asking for an outside teaching assessment with a member of the Altshuler Academy of Distinguished Teachers – all of whom are recipients of the CTE’s Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Award.

Working together, the two faculty members develop a comprehensive review of all aspects of the requesting faculty member’s teaching. The result is a confidential assessment for the requesting faculty member only.

Since its inception, the CTE has received about 40 requests from new and experienced teachers alike, says Beth Thornburg, CTE director.

The following Academy members provided Peer Feedback reviews during the past year:

  • Marc Christensen, Electrical Engineering
  • Melissa Dowling, History
  • Randall Griffin, Art History
  • Rita Kirk, Communication Studies
  • Joe Kobylka, Political Science
  • Alyce McKenzie, Preaching and Worship
  • Larry Ruben, Biological Sciences
  • Dennis Simon, Political Science
  • Don VandeWalle, Management and Organizations
  • Greg Warden, Art History
  • Bonnie Wheeler, Medieval Studies
  • Patty Wisian-Neilson, Chemistry

More about the Peer Feedback Program from SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence
Request peer feedback from the CTE