Three named 2012-14 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors

SMU 2012-14 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors James Sullivan and Carrie La Ferle with University trustee Ruth Altshuler - fellow recipient Tom Mayo is not pictured
SMU 2012-14 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors James Sullivan, Art, and Carrie La Ferle, Advertising, celebrate with University Trustee Ruth Altshuler during the May 2012 board meeting. Not pictured: Tom Mayo, Law.

Three of SMU’s best teachers have been named 2012-14 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors, as announced by the University’s Center for Teaching Excellence. This year’s honorees are Carrie La Ferle, Advertising, Meadows School of the Arts; Tom Mayo, Law, Dedman School of Law; and James Sullivan, Art, Meadows School of the Arts.

The new members of SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers will join returning members Marc Christensen, Electrical Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering; Alyce McKenzie, Homiletics, Perkins School of Theology; and David Son, Chemistry, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. Fellow 2011 honoree Greg Warden, Art History, Meadows School of the Arts, will become president of Franklin College in Lugano, Switzerland, on July 1.

Each year since 2001, the Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Awards recognize four SMU faculty members for their commitment to and achievements in fostering student learning. “These are faculty whose concerns for higher education go beyond classroom boundaries and often the boundaries of their own discipline,” according to the CTE website. “They represent the highest achievement in reaching the goals of higher education.” The professorships are named for SMU Trustee Ruth Altshuler.

Each recipient receives a $10,000 award and membership in SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers for the two years of their appointment as Altshuler Professors. Members participate actively with other members of the Academy to address issues in classroom teaching.

More about this year’s honored professors under the link.

Carrie La Ferle is a professor in the Temerlin Advertising Institute of SMU’s Meadows School of the Arts. Her research focuses on how culture impacts advertising effectiveness and consumer behavior. She teaches courses in international advertising and advertising ethics and has examined issues of credibility, attitudes toward advertising, ethnic minority media use, language preferences, diffusion of innovations, and other issues relating to the intersection of culture and advertising. Her teaching awards include the 2009 President’s Associates Outstanding Faculty Award.

Tom Mayo is an associate professor of law in SMU’s Dedman School of Law and immediate past director of the University’s Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility. He also serves as an adjunct associate professor of internal medicine at UT-Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. Currently, he teaches in the areas of bioethics and law; health care law; law, literature and medicine; nonprofit organizations; and torts. In 2002, he became the first lawyer to receive the Heath Award from the Dallas County Medical Society for his contributions to medicine and leadership in Dallas County.

James Sullivan is a professor of sculpture in Meadows School of the Arts. He has had solo exhibitions at the Art Museum of South Texas in Corpus Christi, Conduit Gallery in Dallas, Amerika Haus in Berlin, Galerie Muhlenbusch in Düsseldorf, and the Museum Moderner Kunst in Passau, as well as at SMU’s Meadows Museum. His current research is on the use of touch-based computer modeling and 3-D digital printing to produce sculpture. He has received two University awards for teaching, as well as the 2004-05 United Methodist Council Scholar/Teacher Award, and served as a charter member of the University Commission on Teaching and Learning.