SMU honors outstanding achievement at 2011-12 Extravaganza

2011 laurelsSMU faculty, staff, administrators and students were recognized with teaching awards, service honors and the University’s highest commendation, the “M” Award, at the 2012 Awards Extravaganza Monday, April 16.

On the same day, the University honored its best students at the 15th annual Honors Day Convocation. The address was delivered by Jodi Cooley, assistant professor of experimental particle physics in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences and recipient of a 2012 National Science Foundation CAREER Award of more than $1 million for her research toward detecting the particles that are believed to make up dark matter.

> Find a list of University, school and departmental awards from Honors Convocation 2012

Find the the Awards Extravaganza 2012 winners list after the jump.

Congratulations to SMU faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the 2012 Awards Extravaganza on Monday, April 16.

Receiving the “M” Award, SMU’s most prestigious honor, are five faculty and staff members and 10 students (see below) whose contributions to the University are “above and beyond the call of duty.” Faculty and staff recipients include:

Brad Cheves, vice president for development and external affairs
Renee Gibson, assistant director of new student orientation and student support, Office of the Dean of Student Life
Randall Griffin, professor of art history, Meadows School of the Arts
Jeff Kennington, professor in the Department of Engineering Management, Information and Systems, Lyle School of Engineering
Peter Moore, professor of mathematics, Dedman College

Faculty and staff recipients of Students’ Association Awards are recognized for giving unselfishly to the students and the University as a whole. The recipients are:

• Outstanding Administrator – Albert Niemi Jr., dean, Cox School of Business
• Outstanding Trustee – Linda Pitts Custard, Custard/Pitts Land and Cattle Company

The Willis M. Tate Award, also given by the Students’ Association, was presented to Elizabeth Wheaton, lecturer in economics, Dedman College. The award honors an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Recipients of the Outstanding Professor Awards presented by the Rotunda yearbook include:

Marilynn (Birdie) Barr, senior lecturer in applied physiology and wellness, Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development
Hubert Crouch, visiting lecturer in communication studies, Meadows School of the Arts
Mark Fontenot, lecturer in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering
Xi Wang, assistant professor of music composition and theory, Meadows School of the Arts

Receiving the Extra Mile Awards, presented by Students for New Learning for graciousness and sensitivity to students with learning differences:

Craig Flournoy, associate professor of journalism, Meadows School of the Arts
Judy Foxman, senior lecturer in marketing, Cox School of Business
John Wise, research associate professor of biological sciences, Dedman College

The Office of Community Engagement and Leadership’s Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award was presented to SMU Mothers’ Club President Dianne Bell Jopling, Office of the Treasurer, for exemplary community service outside the University.

Receiving the Leadership in Sustainability Award from the SMU Sustainability Committee were David Blackwell, W.B. Hamilton Professor of Geophysics, and Maria Richards, coordinator, both of the SMU Geothermal Laboratory in Dedman College.

Superior students

Student recipients of the “M” Award:

Jasmine Carr
Kevin Eaton
Alex Ehmke
Joseph Esau
Matt Gayer
Derek Hubbard
Adriana Martinez
Yvonne Pitts
Austin Prentice
Kari Rood

Other students recognized with special awards are:

Kevin Eaton – James E. Caswell Award, based on contributions to resident student life
Bethany Mackingtee – Umphrey Lee Award, based on involvement in the SMU community
Chase Michalek – Avella Winn Hay Award, based on scholarship, character and contribution to the SMU community

Receiving John L. Freehafer Awards based on recipients’ interest in student life, activities and government are:

Antonea Bastian
Amie Kromis
Elise McDonald
Genesis Reed
Zohra Samji
William Vonderfecht

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

Silje Fjortoft – Scholar/Athlete Award
Elisabeth Knutzen – Scholar/Leader Award
Billy Dugal – Scholar/Volunteer Award

SMU Dads’ Club – Outstanding Senior Man Award:

Trigg Burrage

SMU Mothers’ Club – Outstanding Senior Woman Award:

Megan Clark Welch

Office of the Chaplain – Sheri Mooney Memorial Scholarship Award:

Alexandria Pegram
Dawson Williams
Adrienne Yim

Women’s Center for Pride and Gender Initiatives – Emmie V. Baine Legacy Award:

Cori Hill

Office of Community Engagement and Leadership – Excellence in Service Award:

Engineers Without Borders

Students receiving the A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award are:

Michael Alberts
Meredith Carlton
Caroline Farish
Fred Leach
Angela Martinez
Rachel Singer