CTE recognizes 2010-11 Peer Feedback faculty participants

SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) recognizes 18 faculty members for serving in its Peer Feedback Program during 2010-11.

The CTE established the program in Fall 2010 “as part of our mission to enhance teaching effectiveness across campus,” says CTE Director Ron Wetherington.

The program matches a faculty member asking for an outside teaching assessment with a member of the Altshuler Academy of Distinguished Teachers – all of whom are recipients of the CTE’s Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Award. Working together, the two faculty members develop a comprehensive review of all aspects of the requesting faculty member’s teaching. The result is a confidential assessment for the requesting faculty member only.

Since its inception, the CTE has received more than 20 requests from new and experienced teachers alike, Wetherington says.

The following Academy members provided Peer Feedback reviews during the past year:

  • Bill Beauchamp, World Languages
  • Marc Christensen, Electrical Engineering
  • Olga Colbert, World Languages
  • Melissa Dowling, History
  • Randall Griffin, Art History
  • Milt Gosney, Electrical Engineering
  • Ian Harris, Statistical Science
  • Robert Howell, Philosophy
  • Jeff Kennington, Engineering Management, Information and Systems
  • Alyce McKenzie, Preaching and Worship
  • Thomas Osang, Economics
  • Ellen Pryor, Law
  • Dennis Simon, Political Science
  • David Son, Chemistry
  • John Ubelaker, Biology
  • Don VandeWalle, Management and Organizations
  • Mary Vernon, Art
  • Wayne Woodward, Statistical Science

> More about the Peer Feedback Program from SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence
> Request peer feedback from the CTE