Extra: SMU honors outstanding achievement in 2010-11 awards ceremonies

2011 laurelsSMU faculty, staff, administrators and students were recognized with teaching awards, service honors and the University’s highest commendation, the “M” Award, at the 2011 Awards Extravaganza April 11.

On the same day, the University honored its best students at the 14th annual Honors Day Convocation. The address was delivered by Peter Raad, founding director of the Linda and Mitch Hart eCenter at SMU and executive director of The Guildhall at SMU.

> Find a list of University, school and departmental awards from Honors Convocation 2011

Find the the Awards Extravaganza 2011 winners list after the jump.

Congratulations to SMU faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the 2011 Awards Extravaganza on April 11.

Receiving the “M” Award, SMU’s most prestigious honor, are five faculty and staff members and 10 students (see below) whose contributions to the University are “above and beyond the call of duty.” Faculty and staff recipients include:

Mike Adler, executive director, SMU-in-Taos, and associate professor of anthropology, Dedman College
Susan Austin, associate director of facilities operations, Resident Life and Student Housing
Maria Dixon Hall, associate professor of communication studies, Meadows School of the Arts
Rita Kirk, director, Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility, and professor of communication studies, Meadows School of the Arts
Geoffrey Orsak, dean, Lyle School of Engineering

Faculty and staff recipients of Students’ Association Awards are recognized for giving unselfishly to the students and the University as a whole. The recipients are:

• Outstanding Administrator – Lori White, vice president for student affairs
• Outstanding Trustee – Ray L. Hunt, Hunt Consolidated, Inc.

The Willis M. Tate Award, also given by the Students’ Association, was presented to Jasper Neel, professor of English in Dedman College. The award honors an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Recipients of the Outstanding Faculty Teaching Awards presented by the Rotunda yearbook include:

Charles DeBus, senior lecturer in photography, Meadows School of the Arts
Thomas Fomby, professor of economics, Dedman College
Hedy Law, assistant professor of music history, Meadows School of the Arts
Alberto Pastor, assistant professor of Spanish linguistics, Dedman College

Receiving the Extra Mile Awards, presented by Students for New Learning for graciousness and sensitivity to students with learning differences:

Ellen Allen, senior lecturer in information technology and operations management, Cox School of Business
Susan Harris, adjunct professor of psychology, Dedman College
Elizabeth Wheaton, lecturer in economics, Dedman College

The Office of Leadership and Community Involvement’s Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award was presented to Sheumona Miller, academic adviser in the Dedman College Advising Center, for “exemplary community service outside the University.”

Receiving the Leadership in Sustainability Award from Facilities Management and Sustainability was Tiana Lightfoot Svendsen, coordinator in the Dean’s Office, Lyle School of Engineering.

Superior students

Student recipients of the “M” Award:

Laura Baez
Kelvin Beachum
Andrew Conwell
Audrey Gab
Janet Leung
Sana Merchant
Rebecca Quinn
Haynes Strader
Jake Torres
Jeremy Wilkins

Other students recognized with special awards are:

Alyssa Veteto – James E. Caswell Award, based on contributions to resident student life
Mercedes Ulibarri – Umphrey Lee Award, based on involvement in the SMU community
Jenna Reekie – Avella Winn Hay Award, based on scholarship, character and contribution to the SMU community

Receiving John L. Freehafer Awards, based on recipients’ interest in student life, activities and government are:

Daniela Balderas
Stephanie Chung
Roza Essaw
Derek Hubbard
Courtney Kelly
Evan Taylor

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

Audra Egenolf – Scholar/Athlete
Jordan Johansen – Scholar/Leader
Drake Konow – Scholar/Volunteer

SMU Dads’ Club:

Carson Linstead – Outstanding Senior Man Award

SMU Mothers’ Club:

Almorceen (Ceena) Hall – Outstanding Senior Woman Award

Office of the Chaplain:

Peter Dang – Sheri Mooney Memorial Scholarship Award

Women’s Center for Pride and Gender Initiatives:

Jessica Andrewartha – Emmie V. Baine Legacy Award

SPARC Excellence in Service Award (Office of Leadership and Community Involvement):

Sigma Lambda Beta

Students receiving the A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award are:

Lauren Chase
Miguel Esparza
Linwood Fields
Almorceen (Ceena) Hall
Kristin Harrington
Cathryn Kirkhuff