Nominate 2011 honorary degree candidates by Sept. 27

2010 SMU honorary degree recipientsThe Faculty Senate is seeking nominations for SMU’s honorary degree class of 2011. Nominees should be individuals “whose uncommon personal accomplishments at home or abroad have served society and the public good, or who enlarge human understanding and enrich human life, in any field of endeavor.” The deadline is Sept. 27.

Nominations should include a note identifying your membership in the SMU community, an unsigned letter of nomination, and supporting materials. Send via e-mail or regular mail to Faculty Senate Secretary Lee Alvoid, SMU Box 750241.

> Find a list of previous recipients at the Registrar’s homepage

(Above, SMU’s honorary degree class of 2010 with faculty sponsors and other Commencement dignitaries: front row left to right, Saul Perlmutter, Jorie Graham and Karinna Moskalenko; back row left to right, Thomas Coan, SMU President R. Gerald Turner, Willard Spiegelman, 2010 Commencement Speaker Ron Kirk and Jeffrey Kahn.)