Two ceremonies honor outstanding achievement

Honors Day Convocation

SMU celebrates the culmination of the 2009-10 academic year by honoring some of its most distinguished faculty, staff and students. The 2010 Honors Day Convocation and Awards Extravaganza take place on the afternoon and evening of April 19.

David Meltzer – Henderson-Morrison Professor of Prehistory in SMU’s Dedman College, director of the QUEST Archaeological Research Program and a 2009 inductee to the National Academy of Sciences – will deliver the address at the 13th annual Honors Day Convocation at 5:30 p.m. in McFarlin Auditorium. The ceremony celebrates academic achievement at the University and department levels. Retired and current faculty will assemble in academic dress no later than 5:10 p.m. in the Perkins Administration Building lobby and will process together to McFarlin Auditorium. A reception follows the Convocation in the Dallas Hall Quadrangle.

Participating faculty members may RSVP online. SMU Forum will link to a complete list of award winners after the ceremony.

Later, the University presents several awards for excellence – including its highest honor, the “M” Award – during the 2010 Awards Extravaganza at 7:30 p.m. in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Theater. Winners will be listed in SMU Forum the day after the ceremony.

(Photo from Honors Convocation 2008 by Kim Ritzenthaler.)