2010 Authors’ Award luncheon honors Bloom, Chávez, Wegren

Godbey Authors' Award winners for 2010Three SMU faculty authors will be honored for outstanding books published in 2009 at the 30th annual Godbey Lecture Series Authors’ Award Luncheon. The 2010 awards luncheon takes place 11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m. April 26 in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Ballroom.

The Godbey Authors’ Awards are presented by the Godbey Lecture Series in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. Honorees are chosen for their outstanding scholarly research, publications and teaching ability. Each receives a prize of $1,000.

The 2010 honorees are:

Lackland Bloom, professor in Dedman School of Law, for Methods of Interpretation: How the Supreme Court Reads the Constitution (Oxford University Press)

John Chávez, professor of history in Dedman College, for Beyond Nations: Evolving Homelands In the North Atlantic World, 1400-2000 (Cambridge University Press)

Stephen Wegren, professor of political science in Dedman College, for Land Reform in Russia: Institutional Design and Behavioral Responses (Yale University Press)

The price for the luncheon is $17 per person, and the reservation deadline is Wednesday, April 21. For more information or to reserve a place, contact Deborah Martin in the Godbey Lecture Series office, 214-768-2532.

> Visit the Godbey Lecture Series homepage