Three faculty members named Distinguished University Citizens

Three faculty members were honored with SMU’s annual Distinguished University Citizen Award at the Faculty Breakfast held May 16 before Commencement. The 2009 recipients:

Barbara Hill Moore, Music, Meadows School of the Arts
David Meltzer, Anthropology, Dedman College
Brian Stump, Huffington Department of Earth Sciences, Dedman College

The award, given by the Provost’s Office, honors three faculty members each year for service and activities that benefit students and the University’s academic mission. “It’s a chance to say ‘thank you’ to people who have given so much of themselves to SMU,” said Ellen Jackofsky, associate provost for faculty and administrative affairs. “The recipients truly have distinguished themselves as good University citizens.”

More from SMU’s 94th Commencement