Four 2009-11 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors named

SMU's 2009-11 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching ProfessorsFour outstanding educators have been named 2009-11 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professors by SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence. This year’s honorees are Crista DeLuzio, History; Robert Howell, Philosophy; Thomas Knock, History; and Thomas Osang, Economics. All four honorees teach in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.

The four new members of SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers will join returning members Olga Colbert, Foreign Languages and Literatures (Spanish); Ian Harris, Statistical Science; Larry Ruben, Biological Sciences; and David Willis, Mechanical Engineering.

Each year since 2001, the Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Awards recognize four SMU faculty members for their commitment to and achievements in fostering student learning. “These are faculty whose concerns for higher education go beyond classroom boundaries and often the boundaries of their own discipline,” according to the CTE website. “They represent the highest achievement in reaching the goals of higher education.” The professorships are named for SMU Trustee Ruth Altshuler.

Each recipient receives a $10,000 award and membership in SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers for the two years of their appointment as Altshuler Professors. Members participate actively with other members of the Academy to address issues in classroom teaching.

Read more about the new Altshuler Professors under the link. Left, the new Altshuler Professors were honored by the SMU Board of Trustees during its May meeting (left to right): SMU President R. Gerald Turner, Thomas Knock, Thomas Osang, Crista DeLuzio, Robert Howell and Ruth Altshuler.

Crista DeLuzio is an associate professor of history whose research interests include the histories of women and gender, of childhood, and of science – with a focus on the roles that women, children and families play in facilitating historical change. She is the author of Female Adolescence in American Scientific Thought, 1830-1930 (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007) and the editor of the forthcoming book Women’s Rights (ABC-Clio, Perspectives in American Social History Series). She was named SMU’s Rotunda Outstanding Professor in 2004 and received the Deschner Teaching Award from the University’s Women’s and Gender Studies Program in 2002.

Robert Howell is an assistant professor of philosophy whose research includes the nature of subjectivity, the self and the mind, with a focus on metaphysics, epistemology, the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of language. He is developing a view called “Subjective Physicalism,” which maintains that while everything is physical, some physical states cannot be fully grasped unless they are occupied. He is also co-administrator of, a group blog dealing with the philosophy of mind. He was nominated for SMU’s Rotunda Outstanding Professor Award in 2007 and for the Golden Mustang Award for excellence in teaching in 2006 and 2007. He has served as faculty adviser to the SMU Philosophy Club since 2005.

Thomas Knock is an associate professor of history whose research interests include the history of American foreign relations and 20th-century American politics. His 1992 book, To End All Wars: Woodrow Wilson and the Quest for a New World Order (Oxford University Press), received the Warren F. Kuehl Prize from the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations, as well as a 1993 SMU Godbey Lecture Series Author’s Award. He received the “M” Award, SMU’s highest honor for service to the University, in 1998. He also received the 1995 Willis M. Tate Award, given by the SMU Students’ Association to an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Thomas Osang is an associate professor of economics and an Advisory Board Fellow in SMU’s Tower Center for Political Studies in Dedman College. His research in international economics, growth and development focuses on growth and trade; trade and exchange rate volatility; globalization and wage inequality; and environmental regulation and trade. His honors include SMU’s 2004 Faculty Volunteer of the Year Award and a 2002 “M” Award for outstanding service. As a teacher, he has received the 2000 Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence (HOPE) Award from student staff members of SMU’s Department of Residence Life and Student Housing, as well as the 2000 Outstanding Professor Award from the SMU Economics Club.

Read more about the new Altshuler Professors at their faculty websites:

Crista DeLuzio
Robert Howell
Thomas Knock
Thomas Osang