Political science major wins election to DeSoto school board

SMU political science major Warren SeayWarren Seay, a junior political science major in SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, won election to the DeSoto (TX) school board in a landslide May 9. At age 20, the 2009 Truman Scholar has become the youngest school board member in DeSoto history and one of the youngest in Texas history.

“What we saw [on Saturday] was an affirmation from the community that we’re ready for a new voice,” Seay told The Dallas Morning News. “We’re ready for new ideas and new energy.”

Seay received about 73 percent of the votes cast in a race to replace retiring trustee Don McKinley.

Learn more about Warren Seay
Read election coverage from The Dallas Morning News