Brettell, Kofele-Kale named University Distinguished Professors

Two SMU faculty members have been named University Distinguished Professors, as announced by the Office of the Provost. Caroline Brettell of the Department of Anthropology, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, and Ndiva Kofele-Kale of the Dedman School of Law were recommended by an Advisory Committee to the Provost comprised of 4 current holders of SMU endowed chairs and 2 current holders of University Distinguished Professorships.

The University Distinguished Professorships were created in 1982 by SMU’s Board of Trustees to honor outstanding faculty members who meet the highest standards of academic achievement. University Distinguished Professors are appointed in perpetuity and receive cash awards of $10,000 per year for a 5-year rolling term.

Caroline BrettellCaroline Brettell, Dedman Family Distinguished Professor in Dedman College, served as chair of the Department of Anthropology from 1994 to 2004. She also served as president of the Faculty Senate in 2001-02 and director of the Women’s Studies Program from 1989 to 1994. She was honored with the SMU Distinguished University Citizen Award in 2004. Her research interests include migration and immigration, the cross-cultural study of gender, the intersections of anthropology and history, and European ethnography. Brettell has been a member of the SMU faculty since 1988. From July 2006 to June 2008, she served as acting dean of Dedman College.

Ndiva Kofele-KaleNdiva Kofele-Kale first came to SMU in 1988 as a visiting professor from the University of Tennessee School of Law. He became a full-time faculty member in the Dedman School of Law in fall 1989 and a full professor in 1998. An expert in international dispute resolution, human rights and public international law, Kofele-Kale served from 1990-96 as associate editor of The International Lawyer, a joint publication of the American Bar Association and the Dedman School of Law. He teaches courses in public and private international law and business associations.