Students honor professors with 2008 HOPE Awards

Eddie Hourigan, Mark Fontenot and Ben Koopferstock at SMU's 2008 HOPE AwardsStudent staff members in SMU’s Department of Residence Life and Student Housing honored 53 University educators at the 11th annual HOPE Banquet Nov. 2, 2008. HOPE (Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence) Award recipients are named through student staff member nominations as professors who “have made a significant impact to our academic education both inside and outside of the classroom.”

Mark Fontenot of the Computer Science and Engineering Department, Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering, was honored as 2008 Professor of the Year. Three Dedman College professors – Joe Kobylka and Michael Lusztig of the Political Science Department and Patty Wisian-Neilson of the Chemistry Department – were named Distinguished Professors, denoting that they have been recognized as HOPE Professors during at least 5 of the 11 years in which the honor has existed.

Read the complete list of honorees under the link below. Right, Professor of the Year Mark Fontenot (center in photo) with the two students who nominated him: Eddie Hourigan (left) and Ben Koopferstock.

The 2008 HOPE Award honorees:

Cox School of Business
Chuck Dannis
Joonwook Park
Robert Puelz
Charles Ruscher
Gregory Sommers
Michael Van Breda
Catherine Weber

Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering
Mark Fontenot**
Charles M. Lovas
David Willis
Jim Yu

Meadows School of the Arts
Rhonda Blair
Maria Dixon
David Hadeler
Craig Flournoy
William Ford
Barbara Hill-Moore
David Mancini
Andrew Parker
Myra Woodruff

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
William Barnard
Gordon Birrell
Jacqueline Bradley
Chelsea Brown
Josephine Caldwell Ryan
Olga Colbert
Edward Countryman
Michael Crow
Kenneth Daley
Jill DeTemple
Melissa Dowling
Mark Frost
Rick Halperin
Marta Harvell
Kenneth Hamilton
Nancy Hodge
Jean Kazez
Thomas Knock
Joseph Kobylka*
Pam Lange
Michael Lattman
Michael Lusztig*
Jasper Neel
Elizabeth Rojas-Auda
Larry Ruben
Genie Short
Carolyn Smith-Morris
Tom Stone
Vicki Tongate
John Wise
Patty Wisian-Neilson*

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development
Marilynn Barr

Student Affairs
Don Hopkins

* denotes Distinguished Professor, having been nominated as a HOPE Professor for a minimum of 5 years

** denotes HOPE Professor of the Year 2008