Brian Stump receives teaching award at General Faculty Meeting

Brian Stump, Albritton Professor in the Huffington Department of Earth Sciences in Dedman College, was honored as the 2007-08 United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year at SMU’s Fall General Faculty Meeting Aug. 28.

President R. Gerald Turner updated the faculty on the upcoming Second Century Campaign and other issues surrounding campus life.

>> Newly tenured faculty and more under the link

“This is a very special year in the history of SMU,” said President Turner, reminding the faculty that SMU also begins the public celebration of its centennial this year. The Second Century Campaign and the centennial celebration will be separate yet intertwined, he said.

The official announcement of the Second Century Campaign’s public phase and its fund-raising goal will take place Sept. 12, 2008, after the Board of Trustees’ fall meeting, Turner says. Copies of the campaign and implementation plans, as well as SMU’s Centennial Strategic Plan, are available at SMU’s libraries.

“We are all well aware of the commitment President Turner and the Board of Trustees have made to the enhancements in faculty and programs with the new campaign,” said incoming Faculty Senate President Dennis Foster. “This commitment represents a determination to improve the academic quality of SMU that would be hard to overestimate.

“The role of the faculty, by comparison, seems quite simple: Read, write, experiment, perform, build, think, talk and, of course, teach.”

Turner also announced that the incoming class of 2012 carries an average SAT score of 1241, which represents an 11-point increase from last year’s entering class and a 97-point increase over the past 10 years. The Strategic Plan sets an average-SAT goal between 1275 and 1300 by the centennial year of 2015, he added. Texas students represent 42 percent of the first-year class, with 50 percent from out of state and 8 percent international. Minority students make up 20 percent of the class.

SMU’s review of its general education requirements will begin this fall, with Associate Provost Tom Tunks and Associate Dean of General Education Dennis Cordell co-chairing, Turner said. The committee is now being assembled and is expected to issue a report during the Spring 2009 semester.

In addition, Turner updated the faculty on new initiatives arising from the Task Force on Substance Abuse Prevention, which submitted its report last spring. After Faculty Senate review, Turner accepted 36 of the Task Force’s 38 recommendations in April 2008.

A Task Force Commission will review the University’s progress in substance abuse prevention and issue an annual report, Turner said. The medical amnesty and good Samaritan policies have been put into place and are effective with the Fall 2008 semester. The University also has implemented a social-event registration process this term.

In addition, the Hughes-Trigg Student Center and Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports have extended their hours on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. Extended hours for the Memorial Health Center have been approved and will be implemented as soon as staffing is in place, Turner said.

President Turner, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Paul Ludden and the deans of the schools presented academic regalia to faculty members who received tenure in 2008:

Cox School of Business

  • Nilabhra (Neil) Bhattacharya, Accounting
  • Richard Briesch, Marketing
  • Tasadduq (Tassu) Shervani, Marketing

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

  • Denise DuPont, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Serge Frolov, Religious Studies
  • Robert Harrod, Biological Sciences
  • Robert Howell, Philosophy
  • Renee McDonald, Psychology
  • Hon Keung (Tony) Ng, Statistical Science
  • Saltuk Ozerturk, Economics
  • Timothy Rosendale, English
  • Carolyn Smith-Morris, Anthropology

Dedman School of Law

  • Jenia Iontcheva Turner

School of Engineering

  • Dinesh Rajan, Electrical Engineering