Three honored for distinguished service during Commencement 2008

National Archivist Allen Weinstein at SMU's 93rd Commencement

Three faculty members were honored with SMU’s annual Distinguished University Citizen Award at the Faculty Breakfast held May 17 before Commencement. The 2008 recipients:

  • Lynn Jacobs, Wellness
  • Jeffery Kennington, Engineering Management, Information and Systems
  • Harold Stanley, Political Science

The award, given by the Provost’s Office, honors three faculty members each year for service and activities that benefit students and the University’s academic mission. “It’s a chance to say ‘thank you’ to people who have given so much of themselves to SMU,” says Ellen Jackofsky, associate provost for faculty and administrative affairs. “The recipients truly have distinguished themselves as good University citizens.”

SMU awarded nearly 2,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees as part of this year’s graduation celebration. Dr. Allen Weinstein (above), the noted historian who oversees the nation’s presidential libraries, spoke at the all-University ceremony.

Read text of Weinstein’s Commencement speech.
See a video. video
Download the address to your iPod. iPod download
More from Commencement 2008.