SMU Libraries announce 2008 Staff Award winners

The SMU Libraries honored some of its indispensable associates, as nominated by the SMU community, at its 2008 Libraries Staff Awards ceremony May 9 in DeGolyer Library. Staff members from Central University Libraries, Bridwell Library, Underwood Law Library and the Business Information Center were eligible to be nominated for the awards, which carry a cash prize of $500 each.

This year’s recipients:

• Employee of the Year – Cindy Gautreaux, Central University Libraries

• Outstanding Achievement – Sam Ratcliffe and Ellen Buie Niewyk, Central University Libraries

• Continuing Excellence – Maria Isabel Lopes Garcia, Central University Libraries

• Effective Use of Information Technology – Robert Walker, Central University Libraries

• Outstanding Student Assistants – Thien Ho, Business Information Center, and Valencia Pan, Underwood Law Library

In addition, the following staffers received Central University Libraries Awards:

• Dean’s Eureka Award – Cindy Gautreaux

• CUL Team Award – The Digitization Advisory Group: Stacey Beach, Jorge Cruz, Michael Seifi, Robert Walker and Brad Wehring