SMU, USPS to honor icons of American journalism

The spirit and heritage of American journalism is captured in a series of five new postage stamps to make their public debut at SMU.

At 10 a.m. April 29 in the Hughes-Trigg Commons, representatives from the U.S. Postal Service will unveil the 2008 American Journalist Series. Depicted on the stamps will be Martha Gellhorn, John Hersey, George Polk, Ruben Salazar and Eric Sevareid.

Local journalists participating in the ceremony will include John McCaa, ABC Channel 8; Tracy Rowlett, CBS Channel 11; Ken Kalthoff, NBC Channel 5; Clarice Tinsley, Fox 4 News; Bob Ray Sanders, assistant editor, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; and Miguel Amante, Telemundo News Channel 39. The event is free and open to the public.